

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Contractor Certification

(Pursuant to Section 5-a of the Tax Law, as amended, effective April 26, 2006)

For information, consult Publication 223, Questions and Answers Concerning Tax Law Section 5-a (see Need help? below).

Contractor name					
Contractor's principal place of business		City	State	ZIP code	
Contractor's mailing address (if differen	t than above)				
Contractor's federal employer identification number (EIN)		Contractor's sales tax ID number (if different from contractor's EIN)		Contractor's telephone number	
Covered agency or state agency	Contract number	er or description	the full t	Estimated contract value over the full term of contract (but not including renewals) \$	
Covered agency address			Covered	Covered agency telephone number	

General information

Section 5-a of the Tax Law, as amended, effective April 26, 2006, requires certain contractors awarded certain state contracts valued at more than \$100,000 to certify to the Tax Department that they are registered to collect New York State and local sales and compensating use taxes, if they made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000, measured over a specified period. In addition, contractors must certify to the Tax Department that each affiliate and subcontractor exceeding such sales threshold during a specified period is registered to collect New York State and local sales and compensating use taxes. Contractors must also file a Form ST-220-CA, certifying to the procuring state entity that they filed Form ST-220-TD with the Tax Department and that the information contained on Form ST-220-TD is correct and complete as of the date they file Form ST-220-CA.

All sections must be completed including all fields on the top of this page, all sections on page 2, Schedule A on page 3, if applicable, and Individual, Corporation, Partnership, or LLC Acknowledgement on page 4. If you do not complete these areas, the form will be returned to you for completion.

For more detailed information regarding this form and section 5-a of the Tax Law, see Publication 223, Questions and Answers Concerning Tax Law Section 5-a. (as amended. effective April 26, 2006), available at www.nystax.gov. Information is also available by calling the Tax Department's Contractor Information Center at 1 800 698-2931.

Note: Form ST-220-TD must be signed by a person authorized to make the certification on behalf of the contractor, and the acknowledgement on page 4 of this form must be completed before a notary public.

Mail completed form to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT DATA ENTRY SECTION **W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS ALBANY NY 12227**

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning guarterly wages paid to employees is provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

Need help?



Fax-on-demand forms:

(for information, forms, and publications)

1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. 角 (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

To order forms and publications:	1 800 462-8100
Sales Tax Information Center:	1 800 698-2909
From areas outside the U.S. and outside Canada:	(518) 485-6800
Hearing and speech impaired (telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD) callers only):	1 800 634-2110

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the

Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, please call 1 800 972-1233.



I, ______, hereby affirm, under penalty of perjury, that I am ______

(title)

of the above-named contractor, and that I am authorized to make this certification on behalf of such contractor.

Complete Sections 1, 2, and 3 below. Make only one entry in each section.

Section 1 — Contractor registration status

The contractor has made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made. The contractor is registered to collect New York State and local sales and compensating use taxes with the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance pursuant to sections 1134 and 1253 of the Tax Law, and is listed on Schedule A of this certification.

The contractor has not made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made.

Section 2 — Affiliate registration status

The contractor does not have any affiliates.

□ To the best of the contractor's knowledge, the contractor has one or more affiliates having made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made, and each affiliate exceeding the \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold during such quarters is registered to collect New York State and local sales and compensating use taxes with the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance pursuant to sections 1134 and 1253 of the Tax Law. The contractor has listed each affiliate exceeding the \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold during such quarters on Schedule A of this certification.

To the best of the contractor's knowledge, the contractor has one or more affiliates, and each affiliate has not made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made.

Section 3 — Subcontractor registration status

The contractor does not have any subcontractors.

□ To the best of the contractor's knowledge, the contractor has one or more subcontractors having made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made, and each subcontractor exceeding the \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold during such quarters is registered to collect New York State and local sales and compensating use taxes with the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance pursuant to sections 1134 and 1253 of the Tax Law. The contractor has listed each subcontractor exceeding the \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold during such quarters on Schedule A of this certification.

To the best of the contractor's knowledge, the contractor has one or more subcontractors, and each subcontractor has not made sales delivered by any means to locations within New York State of tangible personal property or taxable services having a cumulative value in excess of \$300,000 during the four sales tax quarters which immediately precede the sales tax quarter in which this certification is made.

Sworn to this ____ day of _____ , 20 _____

Schedule A — Listing of each entity (contractor, affiliate, or subcontractor) exceeding \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold

List the contractor, or affiliate, or subcontractor in Schedule A only if such entity exceeded the \$300,000 cumulative sales threshold during the specified sales tax quarters. See directions below. For more information, see Publication 223.

A Relationship to Contractor	B Name	C Address	D Federal ID Number	E Sales Tax ID Number	F Registration in progress

Column A – Enter C in column A if the contractor; A if an affiliate of the contractor; or S if a subcontractor.

- Column B Name If the entity is a corporation or limited liability company, enter the exact legal name as registered with the NY Department of State, if applicable. If the entity is a partnership or sole proprietor, enter the name of the partnership and each partner's given name, or the given name(s) of the owner(s), as applicable. If the entity has a different DBA (doing business as) name, enter that name as well.
- Column C Address Enter the street address of the entity's principal place of business. Do not enter a PO box.
- Column D ID number Enter the federal employer identification number (EIN) assigned to the entity. If the entity is an individual, enter the social security number of that person.
- Column E Sales tax ID number Enter only if different from federal EIN in column D.
- Column F If applicable, enter an X if the entity has submitted Form DTF-17 to the Tax Department but has not received its certificate of authority as of the date of this certification.

Individual, Corporation, Partnership, or LLC Acknowledgment
STATE OF } : SS.:
COUNTY OF }
On the day of in the year 20, before me personally appeared,
known to me to be the person who executed the foregoing instrument, who, being duly sworn by me did depose and say that
County of,
State of; and further that:
[Mark an $m{X}$ in the appropriate box and complete the accompanying statement.]
\Box (If an individual): _he executed the foregoing instrument in his/her name and on his/her own behalf.
If a corporation): _he is the
of, the corporation described in said instrument; that, by authority of the Board of Directors of said corporation, _he is authorized to execute the foregoing instrument on behalf of the corporation for purposes set forth therein; and that, pursuant to that authority, _he executed the foregoing instrument in the name of and on behalf of said corporation as the act and deed of said corporation.
□ (If a partnership): _he is a
of, the partnership described in said instrument; that, by the terms of said partnership, _he is authorized to execute the foregoing instrument on behalf of the partnership for purposes set forth therein; and that, pursuant to that authority, _he executed the foregoing instrument in the name of and on behalf of said partnership as the act and deed of said partnership.
(If a limited liability company): _he is a duly authorized member of
Notary Public

Registration No. _____