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TO:  Manual Recipients 
FROM: Jessica Rowe, Director of Staffing Services 
SUBJECT: Paid Parental Leave for M/C Employees

On January 10, 2023, Governor Hochul announced that New York State will provide 12 weeks 
of Paid Parental Leave for unrepresented executive branch state employees to bond with a 
newly born, adopted, or fostered child.  The purpose of this Policy Bulletin is to set forth 
guidelines for the administration of this new Paid Parental Leave (PPL) benefit. 

Effective February 14, 2023, Paid Parental Leave will become available to any gestational, 
non-gestational, adoptive, or foster parent who meets certain eligibility criteria for 
unrepresented executive branch employees.  All other child care leave benefits, including sick 
leave accruals, family sick leave benefits, Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), Income 
Protection Plan (IPP), and Paid Family Leave (PFL), remain unchanged and available for use 
when applicable.   

Eligibility 
All unrepresented executive branch employees who work full-time or who work at least 50% 
part-time are eligible for this benefit. Such employees are eligible beginning on their first day 
of service.  Employees are not required to have Attendance Rules coverage to be granted this 
benefit.  

Use of Paid Parental Leave 
Employees may take leave with pay for up to 12 weeks for each qualifying event, defined as 
the birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care. Paid Parental Leave is 
available for use once every 12-month period. A qualifying event begins the 12-month period. 
Paid Parental Leave may begin on the date of birth, the day of adoption or foster care 
placement or anytime thereafter within seven months.  An employee’s ability to use Paid 
Parental Leave ends seven months from the date of the qualifying event.  If a qualifying event 
occurred within seven months before the effective date of this bulletin, an employee may use 
Paid Parental Leave, however the employee’s use of Paid Parental Leave must end within 
seven months of the qualifying event.  

Paid Parental Leave may be used in combination with all other paid and unpaid childcare leave 
benefits (see attached chart for examples of application and order of Paid Parental Leave 
benefits). Paid Family Leave, Income Protection Plan, and usage of accruals cannot run 
concurrently with Paid Parental Leave and may be taken at the appropriate time in addition to 
Paid Parental Leave. 

If both parents are employed by a New York State Agency, both parents may use Paid Parental 
Leave, even if they work for the same appointing authority. 
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Paid Parental Leave cannot be used intermittently and must be taken in a block of time.  
Employees do not have to take the full 12 weeks, but once they return from Paid Parental 
Leave, they can no longer use this leave. 

Status of Employees on Paid Parental Leave 
For attendance and leave purposes, employees are deemed to be in leave without pay status 
while using Paid Parental Leave.  They do not earn biweekly leave accruals or observe 
holidays, nor do they receive personal leave or vacation bonus days if their anniversary dates 
fall while they are using Paid Parental Leave. In such cases, the personal leave anniversary date 
changes to the date of return to work or placement on sick leave at half-pay, and the employee 
receives personal leave on the adjusted anniversary date.  The vacation anniversary date is 
adjusted if the period of continuous absence on Paid Parental Leave and any other kind of 
childcare leave, except where the employee charges accruals on such leave, exceeds six 
continuous months.  If such period is less than six months, the employee retains the same 
vacation anniversary date and is credited with vacation bonus days upon return to work. 

Voluntary Reduction in Work Schedule (VRWS) agreements must be suspended on the first 
day of the payroll period in which an employee begins their Paid Parental Leave. 

Time on Paid Parental Leave does not count as service for earning additional eligibility for sick 
leave at half-pay. 

While using Paid Parental Leave, employees continue to be covered by their existing insurance 
benefits. Employees continue to have health insurance premiums, retirement contributions, and 
other payroll deductions withheld from their paycheck. 

Employees using Paid Parental Leave continue to receive retirement service credit for days in 
while on leave as it is considered full pay status for this purpose. 

Paid Parental Leave may not be used to extend employment beyond the point it would 
otherwise end by operation of law, rule, or regulation. 

Any questions about these provisions should be referred to the Attendance and Leave Unit of 
the Department of Civil Service at (518) 457-2295.  



EXAMPLES OF PAID PARENTAL LEAVE IN CONJUCTION WITH 
ACCRUAL USUAGE AND OTHER LEAVE TYPES: 
 
M/C Gestational Parent (birth) 
 
Employee has 3 weeks of sick leave and two weeks of accrued vacation leave.  The employee 
plans on being out the entire 7 months afforded for Child Care Leave: 

1. Employee is designated FMLA if eligible to run concurrent with accrual usage and other 
leave types. 

2. Sick Leave accruals are used first during period of disability (employee exhausts sick 
leave credits and satisfies waiting period for IPP).   

3. The employee is placed on IPP for 1 week. 
4. Employee is then placed on Paid Parental Leave for 12 weeks. 
5. Employee then goes on Paid Family Leave for the remainder of leave – 12 weeks. 
6. Employee chooses not to utilize their vacation accruals and has accruals upon return to 

use if needed.  Under IPP only sick leave has to be exhausted. 
 
M/C Non-gestational Parent (non-birth) 
 
Employee opts not to charge any accruals.  The employee plans on being out for 4 of the 7 
months afforded for Child Care Leave: 

1. Employee is designated FMLA if eligible to run concurrent with accrual usage and other 
leave types. 

2. Employee is then placed on Paid Parental Leave for 12 weeks. 
3. Employee then goes on Paid Family Leave for the remainder of leave – 4 weeks. 
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