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SUBJECT: Rights of Employees to Express Breast Milk in the Workplace

This Policy Bulletin supersedes all previous guidance on Expressing Breast Milk in the
Workplace, including Policy Bulletin 2024-06.

Section 206-c of the New York State Labor Law gives all employees in New York the right to
express breast milk in the workplace. The New York State Department of Labor has developed
the official policy on breast milk expression in the workplace as required by the law, ensuring
that all employees know their rights and all agencies understand their responsibilities. This
policy is the minimum required standard, but agencies are encouraged to include additional
accommodations tailored to their workplace.

USING BREAK TIME FOR BREAST MILK EXPRESSION

Employees must be provided with paid break time for 30 minutes to allow an employee to
express breast milk for such employee's nursing child each time such employee has reasonable
need to express breast milk for up to three years following childbirth. No employer shall
discriminate in any way against an employee who chooses to express breast milk in the
workplace. This policy applies to employees working off-site (e.g., telecommuting, field work,
etc.), they are entitled to the same break time off to express breast milk.

The number of breaks an employee will need to express breast milk is unique to each employee
and break times must be provided based on the individual.

If additional time is needed beyond the 30 minutes of paid break time, an employee can utilize
the following:

Leave credits (credits other than sick leave)
Existing paid break time (15-minute breaks)
Mealtime

Work before and after shift

Unpaid breaks (i.e., periods of leave without pay)

Employees can work before or after their normal shift to make up any time used as unpaid
break time to express breast milk, as long as this time falls within the agency or facility’s
normal work hours. However, an employee is not required to make up their unpaid break time.

Employees must be permitted to charge appropriate leave credits (credits other than sick leave)
during the unpaid portion of the breaks. Agencies need to ensure that employees understand
the impact on eligibility to earn leave credits if they elect to utilize unpaid break time and not
charge leave credits. The Attendance Rules require an employee to be in full pay status for
seven separate full days out of ten in a biweekly pay period in order to earn biweekly leave
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credits (or a proportionate number of days for employees scheduled to work fewer than ten
days in a biweekly pay period). A day on which an employee takes an unpaid break for this
purpose, and doesn't charge leave credits during that break, does not count as a day in full pay
status for purposes of earning leave credits. Employees who make up their unpaid break time
or charge leave credits for seven out of ten days in a biweekly pay period are in full pay status
for Attendance Rule purposes and will earn leave credits. Paid breaks count toward earning
leave credits.

Employees can work while expressing breast milk, if they voluntarily choose to do so. Time
working while expressing breast milk must be compensated.

The 30 minute paid break time counts towards the 1250 hours of service requirement for the
Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA). It also counts towards time worked for the 12 months of
cumulative service required for FMLA eligibility. The following additional time taken in
excess of the 30 minute paid break time will not count towards the 1250 hours of service
requirement:

e Leave credits (credits other than sick leave)
e Unpaid breaks (i.e., periods of leave without pay)

LACTATION ROOM REQUIREMENTS

In addition to providing the necessary time during the workday, employees must be provided
with a private room or alternative location for the purpose of breast milk expression. The space
provided for breast milk expression cannot be a restroom, locker room, or toilet stall.

The room or other location must;

Be close to an employee’s work area

Provide good natural or artificial light

Be private — both shielded from view and free from intrusion

Have a functional lock that locks from the inside

Have accessible, clean running water nearby

Have an electrical outlet (if the workplace is supplied with electricity)
Include a chair

Provide a desk, small table, desk, counter or other flat surface

A single room or other location can be dedicated for breast milk expression to be shared by all
employees. Should there be more than one employee at a time needing access to a lactation
room, a centralized location can be dedicated for use by all employees.

Any space provided for breast milk expression must be close to the work area of the
employee(s) using the space. The space must be within walking distance, and it should not
significantly extend an employee’s required break time.
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If there is not a separate room or space available for lactation, a vacant office or other available
room can be used on a temporary basis. This room must not be accessible to the public or other
employees while an employee is using it for breast milk expression.

As a last resort, an available cubicle may be used for breast milk expression. A cubicle can only
be used if it is fully enclosed with a partition and is not otherwise accessible to the public or
other employees while being used for breast milk expression. The cubicle walls must be at least
seven feet tall to insure the employee’s privacy.

To ensure privacy, if the lactation room has a window, it must be covered with a curtain, blind
or other covering. In addition, the lactation space should have a door equipped with a
functional lock. If this is not possible (such as in the case of a fully enclosed cubicle), as a last
resort, a sign must be used advising the space is in use and not accessible to other employees or
the public.

If the workplace has a refrigerator, employees are allowed to use it to store breast milk.
However, agencies are not responsible for ensuring the safekeeping of expressed milk stored in
any refrigerator in the workplace. Employees are required to store all expressed milk in closed
containers and bring milk home each evening.

The space designated for expressing breast milk must be maintained and clean at all times.

If a hardship is demonstrated in providing a space with the above requirements, a room or other
location must be provided - other than a restroom or toilet stall - that is in close proximity to the
work area where an employee can express breast milk in privacy, that meets as many of the
requirements as possible.

MAKING A REQUEST TO EXPRESS BREAST MILK AT WORK

If an employee wants to express breast milk at work, they need to give reasonable advance
notice in writing, generally before returning to the workplace if the employee is on leave. This
advance notice is needed to allow for time to find an appropriate location and adjust schedules.
Written notification should include: anticipated return to work date, as well as details
regarding how many breaks are anticipated during the workday and preferred times to express
breast milk.

Employees wishing to request a room or other location to express breast milk in the workplace
should do so by submitting a written request to their direct supervisor, Office of Human
Resource Management or designee for processing requests. Employees must receive a
response to their request within five business days.

All employees must be notified in writing through email or printed memo when a room or other
location has been designated for breast milk expression.

All employees must be given the attached “Policy on the Rights of Employees to Express
Breast Milk in the Workplace”, when they are hired and again every year after. Employees
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must also receive a copy as soon as they return to work following the birth of a child. More
detailed information is provided in the attachment.

Attachment


https://dol.ny.gov/expressing-breast-milk-workplace

