Comparison of Provisions:
NYS Attendance Rules, Federal Family Medical Leave Act, and NYS Paid Family
Leave

Family Relationship

New York State Federal New York State
Relationshi Attendance Rules | Family and Paid Family Leave (PFL)
P Family Sick Leave | Medical Leave
(FSL) Act (FMLA)
[Spouse I Yes H Yes \ Yes

Spousal Equivalent

Only if residing with

No, regardless of]

Yes, Domestic Partner as
defined in Workers'’

employee residence Compensation Law (WCL)

Section 4

Child Under 18 or Yes

Impaired b 168

Child Over 18, not Yes

Impaired b Ne

Foster Child or Child in Only if residing with || Yes, regardless Yes, regardless of

Loco Parentis employee of residence residence

Parents I Yes | Yes I Yes

Parent-in-Law I Yes I No [ Yes

Foster Parent or Parent in || Only if residing with|| Yes, regardless Yes

Loco Parentis employee of residence

Other Relatives or
Relatives-in-Law

Yes, any relative or
relative-in-law
regardless of

residence or any
persons with whom
an employee has
been making
his/her home*

No

Yes (Grandparent,
Grandchild and Parent-in-
Law)

* Security Units have a broader definition of Family, including the employee's spouse, child, parent,
grandparent, brother, sister, parent-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, grandchild or other relative
living in the employee's household.




Impact on Salary and Benefits

New York State Federal New York State
Attendance Rules Family and Paid Family Leave (PFL)
Leave Suats Family Sick Leave | Medical Leave
(FSL) Act (FMLA)
FMLA does not
B e s require an
ey y employer to

Leave at Full Pay

charge available
accrued leave
credits. Sick Leave
is used first (up to 15
days of Sick Leave
may be used for
illness of family
member). Employee
is entitled to use
other accruals upon
exhaustion of Sick
Leave for personal
disability. **

Use of credits other
than Sick Leave for
illness in family is
discretionary with
Appointing Authority.

authorize use of
paid leave where
it would not
otherwise be
authorized.

As a matter of
State policy,
when use of
leave credits
would be allowed
under the
Attendance
Rules, employee
may elect to use
appropriate leave
credits during a
period of FMLA
leave or may
choose not to use
credits at the
employee’s
option.

Employee may choose to
use of Family Sick Leave,
\Vacation, or Personal Leave
for all or part of absence.
Time charged to leave
accruals does not count
against an employee’s
annual entitlement of PFL.

Leave at Partial Pay

Sick Leave at Half-
Pay

M/C IPP Benefits
(STD 50% / LTD
60%).

Both are only
available for
personal disability of
the employee.

Sick Leave at
Half-Pay

M/C IPP Benefits
(STD 50% / LTD
60%).

Both are only
available for
personal disability
of the employee.

Employee who chooses not
to charge Leave Accruals or
Sick Leave at Half-Pay will
receive 8 weeks in 2018 and
up to 12 weeks of partial pay
when fully implemented in
2021 (50% - 67% State
Average Weekly Wage) in
accordance with WCL
section 204, upon the first

full day of absence.

** Sick leave credits for absences necessitated by illness in the employee's family are generally
restricted to absences occasioned by the need for the services of the employee.




Eligibility

New York State Federal New York State
Attendance Rules Family and Paid Family Leave
Family Sick Leave Medical Leave (PFL)

(FSL) Act (FMLA)

Full or Partial Day
Absences

Employee option of
full or partial days.

Employee option
of full or partial
days.

Full day absences only.

Service Requirements

Immediate Coverage
for Annual Salaried
Employees.

One Cumulative
Year of State
Service and 1250
work hours during
the 52 consecutive
weeks immediately
preceding the date
FMLA leave
begins.

Employees working 20
hours or more per week
become eligible for PFL
upon completion of
twenty-six consecutive
weeks of State service.
Employees who work
less than 20 hours per
week become eligible for
PFL upon completion of
one hundred seventy-

five days of State service




