NYSHIP Self-Audit for Participating Agencies

Section 1: Active Employee Eligibility for NYSHIP
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Are active employees in all bargaining units/classes of employees eligible for NYSHIP coverage?
Yes No
If no, which bargaining units or classes of employees are not eligible for NYSHIP coverage?

(Please list)

Are publicly elected officials eligible for NYSHIP coverage? For school districts, are publicly
elected school board members eligible for NYSHIP coverage?

Yes No Not Applicable

Are unpaid board members eligible for NYSHIP coverage?

Yes No Not Applicable

While an agency may impose higher requirements, New York State Civil Service Law establishes
for NYSHIP a minimum of a 20 hour work week or a minimum annual salary of $2,000 per year for
an employee to be eligible for coverage. Does your agency use the NYSHIP minimum standards?

Yes No

If no, what are the standards your agency uses? Please explain if your minimum standard is used
for all employees or just particular classes of employees.

Is NYSHIP the only health insurance option your agency offers to active employees?
Yes No

If no, how many other plans are offered?

Write in number of plans offered:

How many active employees are eligible for health insurance (total):




1.10
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How many active employees are enrolled in NYSHIP?

Does your agency use NYBEAS (New York Benefits Eligibility Accounting System)?
Yes No

Does your agency keep a copy of employee transaction forms such as the 503.1 (PA Health
Insurance Transaction Form)?

Yes No

Does your agency keep a copy of employee eligibility documents such as birth certificates, marriage
licenses, and social security cards?

Yes No

(Please be advised that the Employee Benefits Division strongly encourages Participating Agencies to
keep copies of employee transaction forms and eligibility documentation. This recommendation is
for both the employer and employee’s protection in case of a question or challenge to eligibility.)

Section 2: Rates of Contribution/Active Employees

New York State Civil Service Law establishes a minimum contribution rate for NYSHIP
Participating Agencies of 50%o of the cost of Individual coverage and 35% of the cost of Dependent
coverage.

2.1

2.2

Are there different rates of contribution for different bargaining units or classes of active
employees?

Yes No
What is your agency’s contribution rate for active employees?
Agency’s contribution to (Individual) premium: %

Agency’s contribution to Dependent (Family) premium: %

For which bargaining unit/s or class/es of active employees do the above rates apply?




2.3

If your agency has different contribution rates for different bargaining units or classes of active
eligible employees please specify the units and rates here or attach another sheet.

Does your agency reimburse co-payments or deductibles to Empire Plan enrollees for doctor visits,
prescription drugs, or any service where The Empire Plan requires a co-payment or deductible?
(Not including Flex-Spending plans or other plans of that type)

Yes No

If yes, please specify which types of expense are reimbursed (e.g., drug co-pays, medical co-pays,
etc.)

Are you aware of any of the unions representing your agency’s employees reimbursing co-payments
or deductibles for Empire Plan enrollees?

Yes No
If yes, please specify, to your knowledge, which classes of employees/retirees receive co-payment

or deductible reimbursement, and what types of services are being reimbursed (e.g., drug co-pays,
medical co-pays, etc.)

Section 3: Effective Date of Coverage

NYSHIP permits a waiting period of up to six months for new employees.

3.1

Does your agency impose a waiting period for new employees before NYSHIP coverage is in
effect?

Yes No



3.2 Are there different waiting periods for different bargaining units or classes of employees?

Yes No

3.3  Please circle the waiting period for new employees. (If there are different waiting periods for
different groups please list on a separate sheet):

None 30 days 60 days 90 days 120 days Other:

Section 4: Coverage in Retirement

4.1  Are retirees of all bargaining units/classes of employees eligible for NYSHIP coverage?

Yes No

4.2 If no, please list which groups/classes are eligible. (Please attach a sheet if more space is needed.)

NYSHIP mandates a minimum service requirement of 5 years for purposes of establishing
eligibility for continuation of coverage in retirement. However, an agency may establish a greater
service requirement for retiree coverage.

4.3  What is your agency’s minimum service requirement for eligibility for NYSHIP as a retiree?
5 years 10 years 15 years 20 years 25 years Other:

4.4  If your agency has different minimum service requirements for different bargaining units or classes
of retired employees, please specify the requirements here:

4.5 Does your agency recognize prior public service towards the service requirement?

Yes No

4.6 If yes, please define which prior public service is recognized. (Examples include, recognition of
service with the State of New York, the Federal Government, New York City, other governments
including counties, cities, towns, villages, school districts or other municipal entities.)




NYSHIP requires a minimum contribution rate for participating agencies of 50% of the
cost of Individual retiree coverage and 35% of the cost of retiree Dependent coverage.

4.7  What is your agency’s retiree contribution rate?
Agency’s contribution to (Individual) retiree premium: %
Agency’s contribution to Dependent (Family) retiree premium: %

For which bargaining unit/s or class/es of retired employees do the above rates apply?

If your agency has different contribution rates for different bargaining units or classes of retired
employees, please specify the units and rates here or attach another sheet.

Section 5: Medicare Part B Reimbursement

New York State Civil Service Law requires the reimbursement of the Medicare Part B premium
once a NYSHIP enrollee or dependent becomes eligible for primary Medicare coverage.

5.1  How often does your agency reimburse Medicare Part B for Medicare primary enrollees,
dependents, and survivors?

Once a month Quarterly Annually Other:

Section 6: Dependent Survivor Coverage

New York State Civil Service Law requires that the unmarried spouse and dependents of a
deceased enrollee who had ten years of service or more are offered coverage under NYSHIP. Civil
Service Law allows for a Participating Agency to pay either 75% of the cost of coverage for a
dependent survivor, or none of the cost (the survivor pays the premium in full).

6.1  What is your agency’s contribution rate for dependent survivors?

0% 75%



Section 7: Additional Eligibility Requirements

Tutorial on vesting: New York State Civil Service Law requires adherence to vesting rules. Your agency
should be familiar with these rules, as individuals who vest can be eligible for health insurance in
retirement. Vestees must pay the full share (100%) of NYSHIP premiums until they met the requirements
for health insurance in retirement. A vestee who allows coverage to lapse will not be permitted to reinstate
coverage, either during vested status or after retirement.

Definition of a vestee: An enrolled employee who terminates his or her employment before retirement age
may continue coverage under the State Health Insurance Program if he or she: 1) Is a member of a
retirement system administered and operated by the State of New York or a civil division thereof and has
satisfied the minimum requirements established by his or her retirement system for vesting receipt of a
retirement allowance, 2) Is a member of a class or category for which his or her employing agency either
is required to provide coverage in retirement or has elected administratively or through collective
negotiations to provide such coverage, 3) Has met the minimum requirements, other than age, for
continuation of health insurance into retirement, and 4) Has terminated employment within 5 years of the
date on which he or she is entitled to receive a retirement allowance, if his or her employing agency has
elected administratively or through collective negotiations to establish such an additional requirement.

7.1 Has your agency adopted the policy permitted under NYSHIP that requires a vestee to be within 5
years of retirement age at the time of leaving your agency’s service to maintain eligibility for
NYSHIP coverage in retirement?

Yes No
7.2 If yes, what was the effective date of that policy?

Effective Date:

7.3 Does your agency cover domestic partners? Yes No
For all employees or retirees? Yes No

7.4 Does your agency allow two Family NYSHIP policies? (For example, if both husband and wife
work for your agency, would they both be allowed to have Family coverage?)

Yes No



(NOTE: If any of your agency’s policies or contribution rates change through
collective bargaining or administrative policy, please notify the Employee Benefits
Division in writing.)

Health Benefits Administrator (print name):

Health Benefits Administrator Phone Number:

ATTESTATION: | certify that the following information I have supplied is true and correct.

Name of CEO (print): CEO Phone Number:

Signature of CEO:

Date:

Agency Name:

Agency Code: County Agency Resides in:

Please mail or fax completed Self-Audit to:

Mary B. Frye
Director of Employee Insurance Programs
NYS Department of Civil Service
Alfred E. Smith Office Building
Employee Benefits Division
Albany, NY 12239

fax: 518-474-3744

IMPORTANT: Please keep a copy of this information for your records.




Please Use This Page or Attach Additional Pages for Responses In Excess of the Space Allotted.



