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SEHP Young Adult Q&A 
 

Q1. My 20-year-old daughter is going back to school full-time in January. What do I need 

to do to enroll her as a dependent on my SEHP coverage? 

 

A. As of January 1, 2011, your daughter will be eligible as a dependent on your family coverage 

up to age 26. To add her to your plan, complete the form on page 6 and return it to your HBA. 

 

Q2. My 22-year-old daughter is enrolled in NYSHIP under the Young Adult Option. Will 

she be eligible to be covered as a dependent on my plan? If so, will she automatically be 

enrolled in my plan? 

 

A. Effective January 1, 2011, your daughter, up to age 26, may be eligible for SEHP coverage as 

your dependent, but she will not be automatically enrolled. To enroll her as a dependent, fill out 

the attached Young Adult Dependent form on page 6 making sure to check box 8 to cancel her 

enrollment in the Young Adult Option and then return it to your agency HBA. You and your 

daughter must both sign and date the form. For eligibility requirements, please refer to the 

PPACA article on pages 1-2. 

 

Q3. My daughter’s birthday is at the beginning of the month. When she turns 26, will she 

lose coverage on her birthday or at the end of that month? 

 

A. Effective January 1, 2011, your daughter’s coverage as a dependent will end on the last day of 

the month in which she turns 26-years-old.When she is no longer a dependent, she may be 

eligible for NYSHIP coverage under the Young Adult Option or continuation coverage under 

COBRA or New York State law. For eligibility requirements, please refer to the Young Adult 

Option and Continuation of Coverage articles on page 2. 

 

Q4. I have two young adult children; my son is 27 and my daughter is 23. Can I cover them 

as dependents on my plan or will they be enrolled in a policy of their own and billed 

separately? 

 

A. Since your son is over the age of 26, he may be eligible for coverage under the Young Adult 

Option, which is billed separately from your plan. The premium will be the full cost of individual 

coverage. If your daughter is eligible, she can be added as a dependent on your SEHP coverage 

up to age 26. If your daughter enrolls in your plan, you will pay the premium for family 

coverage. For eligibility requirements, please refer to the PPACA and Young Adult Option 

articles on pages 1-2. 

 

Q5. My daughter is enrolled in SEHP under the Young Adult Option. Will she be eligible 

to enroll in continuation coverage if I lose my SEHP eligibility? 

 

A. No. If your daughter enrolls in SEHP under the Young Adult Option, she will no longer be 

eligible for continuation coverage under COBRA or New York State law. Additionally, if you 

lose your SEHP eligibility, your daughter will lose her eligibility for the Young Adult Option.  
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Q5. I plan to enroll my 24-year-old son as a dependent; will there be an extra charge to 

cover him? 

 

A. Your premiums will not increase if you already have family coverage, because under the 

PPACA, eligible young adult children will be included as dependents on your family policy. 

However, if you are currently enrolled with individual coverage, you will need to change to 

family coverage and may see an increase in your premium costs. 

 

Q6. My son is about to turn 26 and he lost SEHP coverage when he turned 19. His 

employer does not offer health insurance. Will he have any options for health insurance 

coverage under SEHP? 

 

A. After your son’s 26th birthday, he may be eligible for coverage under the Young Adult 

Option. For eligibility requirements, please refer to the Young Adult Option article on page 2. 

 

Q7. When my son lost eligibility as my dependent, he enrolled in continuation coverage. I 

plan to reenroll him as my dependent for January 2011. If I lose my SEHP eligibility, will 

he be eligible for the full length of continuation coverage again? 

 

A. Yes. If you lose SEHP eligibility, your son will be eligible for the full length of continuation 

coverage. 

 

Q8. If I add my son as a young adult dependent, can I also cover his daughter? 

 

A. No. Under the PPACA, coverage does not apply to the spouse or children of your young adult 

dependent. However, if your son’s daughter is financially dependent on you and lives with you, 

she may be eligible to be covered on your health insurance as an “other eligible dependent.” See 

page 7 for more information. 

 

Q9. My 23-year-old son is currently enrolled as a temporarily disabled dependent on my 

SEHP coverage. He has been approved to remain on my plan through December 31, 2011. 

If my son is still disabled on December 31, 2011, will I need to apply for an extension of his 

disabled dependent status for him to remain covered? 

 

A. No. Effective January 1, 2011, your son will continue to be a dependent on your coverage up 

to age 26. If your son is still disabled when he approaches his 26th birthday, another disabled 

dependent application must be completed and approved prior to his 26th birthday for him to 

remain covered after age 26. 
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If You Are Adding a Young Adult Child as a Dependent 

 

 
1. Complete the Young Adult Dependent form on the back of this page: 

 

• Enrollee Information section (boxes: 1-8) 

• Adult Child Dependent Information section 

• Enrollee must sign and date form 

• Dependent’s signature and date is required when the dependent being 

added is electing to cancel their other NYSHIP coverage under COBRA or 

the Young Adult Option 

 

 

2. Submit Required Proofs: 

 

• Dependent’s birth certificate (photocopies only, no original documents) 

• Dependent’s Social Security Card (photocopies only, no original 

documents) 

 

 

3. Bring the signed and completed Young Adult Dependent form with 

photocopies of the required proofs to your agency Health Benefits 

Administrator. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


