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APPLICATION FOR ENROLLING DOMESTIC PARTNERS IN THE NEW 

YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM AND AFFIDAVIT OF 

DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP  

     (Excludes PAs)  PS-425.1 (5/11)   

  
  

Review Form PS-425 to determine whether you and your Domestic Partner may qualify for NYSHIP Domestic 

Partner Coverage.  If you are currently a NYSHIP enrollee and determine that your partner may qualify for 

Domestic Partner coverage, complete this application and submit it with the required documentation as described on 

page 2 (reverse) of this form. You must be able to answer “YES” to all of the questions on this page and be able to 

provide the required documentation in order to qualify for Domestic Partner coverage under NYSHIP. 

 
                                Yes          No 

 

1.  We are each at least 18 years of age or older. 
 

2.  We are not related by blood in a manner that would bar marriage 

under New York State law. 
 

3.  Neither of us is legally married to anyone else.  If either of us has been 

married before, we are submitting proof that the marriage(s) have been 

legally terminated (legal separation does not constitute a termination of marriage). 
 

4.  I, the enrollee, have not had a Domestic Partner enrolled in NYSHIP as my  

dependent within the last year. 

 

5.  We have shared the same residence for at least the last six months and have 

  included Proof of Residence as described on page 2 of this form. 

 

6.  We have had an exclusive mutual commitment to share responsibility for each 

other’s welfare and financial obligations for at least the last six months and 

we expect that commitment to last indefinitely. We included proof of joint 

responsibility for basic financial obligations as described on page 2 of this form. 

 

7.  I, the enrollee, understand that I am required to file a completed Form PS-425.4, 

 Termination of Domestic Partnership, within 14 days of the date my domestic  

 partnership ends or when I no longer can provide proof of one or more of the 

 above requirements. 
 

8.  I, the enrollee, understand that any false or misleading statements made  

will subject me to financial responsibility for any benefits paid on behalf of my partner 

and/or my partner’s children. I understand that false statements may result in disciplinary 

action by my employer and/or result in criminal and/or civil penalties and in other legal  

actions such as the prosecution of insurance fraud. 
 

 
 

Sworn to before me __________________________________________this day of ________________, __________ 

 

________________________________________________ 

             NOTARY PUBLIC                 

 
Personal Privacy Protection Law Notification 

The information you provide on this application is requested for the principal purpose of administering the New York State Health Insurance Program, 

Dental Program, Vision Program, and/or Employee Benefit Fund Program. This information will be used in accordance with Section 96 (1) of the Personal 
Privacy Protection Law. Failure to provide the information requested may prevent the Department from processing this application. This information will be 

maintained by the Employee Benefits Division, NYS Dept. of Civil Service, Alfred E. Smith State Office Building, Albany, NY 12239. For information 

related to the Personal Privacy Protection Law, call (518) 457-9375.  For more information concerning the Domestic Partnership Program, please call  

(518) 457-5754 or 1-800-833-4344 between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

Enrollee Signature (sign in presence of Notary) __________________________________ Date_____________ 
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APPLICATION FOR ENROLLING DOMESTIC PARTNERS IN THE NEW 

YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM AND AFFIDAVIT OF 

DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP  

     (Excludes PAs)  PS-425.1 (5/11)   

  
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

You are required to submit documentation as outlined below. In addition to providing proof of your eligibility for 

Domestic Partner coverage at the time of application, you are required to maintain the ability to provide proof of 

eligibility for as long as you wish to continue to cover your Domestic Partner as your dependent in NYSHIP. 

 

1.   Proof of Joint Responsibility for Basic Financial Obligations. You must submit two forms of proof from 

the list below. Each form of proof must show that you and your Domestic Partner share joint responsibility for 

basic financial obligations and have done so for at least six (6) months immediately preceding the date of 

application, and be valid on the date of your application. If you submit proof that is older than six months you are 

also required to submit that same form of proof that is dated within 30 days of your application. Check the boxes 

below that show each form of proof you are submitting.    

 

At least one of your two documents submitted must be from List A.  You may submit either two documents 

from List A, or one document from List A and one document from List B.   

 

List A 

    

 Joint mortgage or lease agreement / Joint ownership of residence  

Joint wills or designation of the Domestic Partner as executor and/or primary beneficiary 

Designation of the Domestic Partner as beneficiary for life insurance or retirement benefits 

Designation of the Domestic Partner as durable power of attorney 

Mutual grant of authority to make health care decisions (e.g., health care power of attorney) 

loan (may submit a creditor’s affidavit for a personal loan) 

Joint ownership of a brokerage investment account 

Joint insurance policy (homeowners or renters policy, motor vehicle policy) 

Joint ownership or lease of a motor vehicle 

 Joint financial responsibility for child care (e.g., school tuition, guardianship)  

Joint household budget for the purpose of receiving government benefits 

 Status as an authorized signatory on the partner’s bank account, credit card or charge card 

Designation of one partner as the representative payee for the other’s government benefit 
 

List B      
 

 Joint bank account 

Joint credit card or charge card 

Other evidence of joint financial responsibility or of economic interdependence 

 

2.   Proof of Cohabitation  You must submit one form of proof from the list below to prove that you and your 

Domestic Partner have resided together for at least six months immediately preceding the date of application. If 

you submit proof that is older than six months, you are also required to submit that same form of proof that is 

dated within 30 days of your application. This proof may be one document on which both names appear or two 

separate documents that specify each partner’s residential address. 

 

Bank statement mailed to residential address 

Pay check stub 

Driver’s license or automobile registration showing residential address 

Insurance benefits statement mailed to residential address 

Joint membership statement mailed to residential address (e.g., church or other organization) 

Tax return listing residential address 

Telephone/Utility bill mailed to residential address 

Registration as a domestic partnership in a New York State municipality that has established such a procedure     

(e.g., Albany, New York City, Rochester, Ithaca) 
 



State of New York 
Department of Civil Service 

Alfred E. Smith State Office Bldg. 
Albany, NY  12239 

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS DIVISION   

DEPENDENT TAX AFFIDAVIT 
       FOR ENROLLMENT IN THE NEW YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE 

PROGRAM (NYSHIP) 
   PS-425.3 (8/11)

  
The following definitions extracted from the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) may be helpful in determining if your 
dependent qualifies as a dependent for federal purposes. It is recommended that you seek the advice of a tax 
professional or consult with your tax advisor before you complete this affidavit.   

 
IRC SECTION 152 DEPENDENT DEFINED. 
 
Under IRC Section 152 a dependent can be a qualifying relative[S152(a) (2)] 
 
A qualifying relative can be an individual with respect to whom the taxpayer provides over one-half of the individuals 
support for the calendar year in which such taxable year begins[S152 (d) (1) (c)] and, 
 
Is an individual (other than an individual who at any time during the taxable year was the spouse, determined without 
regard to section 7703, of the taxpayer) who, for the taxable year of the taxpayer, has the same principal place of abode as 
the taxpayer and is a member of the taxpayers household. [S152 (d) (2) (h)] 
 
An individual shall not be treated as a member of the taxpayer’s household if at any time during the taxable year of the 
taxpayer the relationship between such individual and the taxpayer is in violation of local law. [S 152 (f) (3)] 
 

  
Name of  Dependent                                                              Social Security Number            

                                                         
DOES fully qualify as my dependent under Internal Revenue Code Section 152.  Checking this box is my official 
affirmation to NYSHIP that I am not subject to federal tax withholding for any imputed income resulting from 
benefits extended to my dependent. I understand that I will be required to complete a new Dependent Tax Affidavit if my 
dependent’s status under IRC section 152 changes at any time. 

 
DOES NOT qualify as my dependent under Internal Revenue Code Section 152. Checking this box is my official 
affirmation to NYSHIP that I am responsible for reporting and paying federal tax on any imputed income resulting 
from benefits extended to my dependent.  I understand that I will be required to complete a new Dependent Tax 
Affidavit if my dependent’s status under IRC section 152 changes at any time.  
 

 
Print Name (Enrollee) 
 
Social Security Number 
 
Address 
  
Enrollee Signature                                                                                                                  Date 
                                                      (sign in presence of Notary)                                                                      

 

 
 

    Subscribed and sworn to before me on this _____ day of ________________, __________. 
 
 
    ________________________________________________ 

             NOTARY PUBLIC                 
 

Personal Privacy Protection Law Notification 
The information you provide on this application is requested for the principal purpose of enabling the New York State Department of Civil Service to enroll 
a dependent in the New York State Health Insurance Program, Dental Program, Vision Program, and/ or Employee Benefit Fund Program. The information 
will be used in accordance with Section 96 (1) of the Personal Privacy Protection Law, particularly subdivisions (b), (e) and (f). Failure to provide the 
information requested may delay the Department in processing this application. This information will be maintained by the Director, Employee Benefits 
Division, NYS Dept of Civil Service, Alfred E. Smith State Office Building, Albany, NY 12239. For information related only to the Personal Privacy 
Protection Law, call (518) 457-9375. For information related to the Health Insurance Program, call (518) 457-5754 or 1-800-833-4344 between the 
hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.  
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ENROLLING DOMESTIC PARTNERS IN THE 
NEW YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM (NYSHIP) 

(Excludes PAs) 
      PS-425 (5/11) 

 
 
 
 
The following information pertains to enrollment under the New York State Health Insurance Program 
(NYSHIP) for Domestic Partners of individuals enrolled through New York State or a NYSHIP 
Participating Employer.  If you are enrolled through a Participating Employer, check with your agency 

Health Benefits Administrator (HBA) to find out if your employer offers Domestic Partner coverage.  

 

Who Can Be Covered As a Domestic Partner  

 

As a NYSHIP enrollee, you may provide coverage as dependent to your same-or opposite-sex partner if the 
following requirements are satisfied: 
 
 Each person is 18 years of age or older; 
 Neither person is married; 
 Neither person has had another Domestic Partner within one year prior to the date of application for 

Domestic Partner coverage under NYSHIP; 
 You are not related by blood in a manner that would bar their marriage in the jurisdiction in which you 

reside; 
 You have shared the same residence for at least six months immediately prior to the date of application 

for Domestic Partner coverage under NYSHIP; 
 You have had an exclusive mutual commitment to share the responsibility for each other’s welfare and 

financial obligations for at least six months immediately prior to the date of application for Domestic 
Partner coverage under NYSHIP, and that commitment is expected to last indefinitely. 
 

In addition to providing proof of your Domestic Partner’s eligibility for coverage at the time of application, 
you are required to maintain the ability to provide proof of eligibility for as long as you wish to continue to 
cover your Domestic Partner as your dependent in NYSHIP. You may also be required to periodically 
provide documentation of proof of your partner’s eligibility. If at any time you are unable to provide proof of 
your partner’s eligibility, you must complete Form PS-425.4, Termination of Domestic Partnership (included 
in the application packet), and submit it to the appropriate office. 
 
Only individuals in a committed relationship who can document their joint residence and joint financial 
responsibilities will be considered for enrollment. Persons who live together for only economic reasons will 
not be considered to be Domestic Partners for the purposes of NYSHIP enrollment. 
 
Coverage for Children of Domestic Partners 

 
You may provide dependent coverage for your enrolled Domestic Partner’s children.  However, your 
Domestic Partner’s children will lose eligibility if your Domestic Partnership ends or if you cease to be able 
to provide proof of eligibility for your Domestic Partner, unless you can document each child’s eligibility as 
an “Other Child.” (See your NYSHIP General Information Book for information about eligibility for “Other 
Children”). Note: Requirements for coverage of your partner’s children under union-sponsored Employee 
Benefit Funds may differ from NYSHIP requirements. Consult the appropriate Employee Benefit Fund for 
its requirements. 
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Dental, Vision and Life Insurance 

 

If you are enrolled in the New York State Dental, Vision or Life Insurance Programs, you may choose to 
provide dependent coverage for your Domestic Partner (and the Domestic Partner’s children) in these 
programs as well. If you receive these benefits from an Employee Benefit Fund, the Employee Benefits 
Division (EBD) of the Department of Civil Service will forward the necessary enrollment information to 
those organizations. You may need to complete additional application forms that will be provided by the 
benefit funds before these benefits will be available. 
 
If you are applying for Dental and Vision coverage only, please indicate this by writing DENTAL VISION 

ONLY at the top of Form PS-425.1, Application for Enrolling Domestic Partners and Affidavit of Domestic 
Partnership. 
 
If you are enrolled through a Participating Employer, check with your agency Health Benefits 

Administrator to find out if your employer offers Domestic Partner coverage. 
 

What Is Required When Applying for Domestic Partner Coverage 

 

 You will need TWO documents as proof of joint responsibility for basic financial obligations  

 
You must submit two forms of proof from the list of specific documents included in this package to prove 
that you and your Domestic Partner have been jointly responsible for basic financial obligations and that you 
have done so for at least six months immediately preceding the date of application for Domestic Partner 
coverage.  If you submit proof that is older than six months, you are also required to submit that same form 
of proof that is dated within 30 days of your application. See Form PS-425.1 for the list of acceptable 
documentation that you can submit for this purpose.  
 
In addition to providing these proofs at the time you apply for coverage for your Domestic Partner, 

you are required to maintain the ability to provide such proof for as long as your Domestic Partner 

remains enrolled as your dependent in NYSHIP. 
 
 You will need ONE document as proof of cohabitation 

 
You must submit one form of proof from a list of specific documents to prove that you and your Domestic 
Partner have resided together for at least six months immediately preceding the date of application for 
Domestic Partner coverage.  If you submit proof that is older than six months, you are also required to submit 
that same form of proof that is dated within 30 days of your application. This proof may be one document on 
which both names appear or two separate documents that specify each partner’s residential address. See 
Form PS-425.1 for the list of acceptable documentation that you can submit for this purpose. 
 
In addition to providing these proofs at the time you apply for coverage for your Domestic Partner, 

you are required to maintain the ability to provide such proof for as long as your Domestic Partner 

remains enrolled as your dependent in NYSHIP.  

 
Pre-Tax Contribution Program (PTCP)  

 
NYSHIP enrollees who are eligible for the Pre-Tax Contribution Program (PTCP) and who cover a Domestic 
Partner may have their full premium contribution for the cost of Family health insurance coverage deducted 
from their wages before taxes are withheld.  
 
Important: Under the PTCP, once you elect to change your coverage to family to add a Domestic Partner, 
you may not change your election back to Individual coverage unless you experience a qualifying event 
(such as a terminated partnership) and the change is requested within 30 days of the qualifying event.  
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Imputed Income 

 
If the enrollee’s Domestic Partner is a non-federally qualified dependent, the fair market value cost of the 
Domestic Partner’s coverage is considered additional income to the enrollee. NYSHIP considers the fair 
market value cost the full share cost of individual coverage less the employee’s premium contribution for 
dependent coverage. NYSHIP is required to calculate and report imputed income to the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) for all enrollees who are providing NYSHIP coverage for a non-federally qualified Domestic
Partner. Refer to the appropriate group below for information on how imputed income is handled: 

 
 For Active New York State Employees covering a non-federally qualified dependent, a biweekly 

imputed income amount will be reported to the New York State Office of the State Comptroller for each 
payroll period as additional income for tax purposes only. Additional withholding taxes will be 
calculated and withheld based upon the additional reported of imputed income. Imputed income is not an 
additional amount added to your total premium paid.  It is additional taxable income based upon the fair 
market value of the non-federally qualified dependent’s coverage. Check with your agency Health 
Benefits Administrator for an approximation of the fair market value for State-administered health 
coverage. 
 

 For Retirees of New York State and Participating Employers covering a non-federally qualified 
dependent, a 1099-MISC will be issued at the end of the tax year, reporting the fair market value of the 
non-federally qualified dependent’s coverage as additional income.  In this case, the additional tax 
liability is reported and “paid” as part of the annual filing of federal income taxes. Check with the 
Employee Benefits Division for an approximation of the fair market value for State-administered health 
coverage. 

 
 For Active Employees of Participating Employers covering a non-federally qualified dependent, 

enrollees may wish to contact the Participating Employer where they work for an approximation of the 
fair market value for State administered health coverage and how the imputed income will be reported. 

 
Note: The Federal Internal Revenue Code determines whether your Domestic Partner is a “federally 
qualified” dependent.  You should consult your tax advisor if you have questions as to whether your 
Domestic Partner is a “federally qualified” dependent, or if you have questions regarding the effect of these 
requirements on your taxes. 
 
If you indicate that your Domestic Partner is a federally qualified dependent on the Form PS-425.3, 
Dependent Tax Affidavit (included in the application packet), this constitutes your direction and NYSHIP 
will not report imputed income. 
 
When Medicare Enrollment Is Required of a Domestic Partner 

 

 For Active Employees: Medicare is primary for an active employee’s Domestic Partner who becomes 
Medicare-eligible at age 65 or due to having completed the 30-month coordination period for end-stage 
renal disease (ESRD). NYSHIP remains primary for an active employee’s Domestic Partner who is 
otherwise Medicare-eligible due to disability. You must provide your agency Health Benefits 
Administrator with a copy of your Domestic Partner’s Medicare card for proper coordination of benefits 
and to receive Medicare Part B premium reimbursement.  

 
 For Retirees: Medicare is primary for a retiree’s Domestic Partner who becomes Medicare eligible at 

age 65 or due to disability. You must send a copy of your Domestic Partner’s Medicare card to the 
Employee Benefits Division for proper coordination of benefits and to receive Medicare Part B 
reimbursement. 
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When Domestic Partner Coverage Begins 

 
When coverage begins is determined by your group.  See the appropriate group below. Please note that the 
date your Domestic Partner is first eligible is the day that is exactly six months after the latest date noted in 
the residency and financial support proof documents you submit with your application for Domestic Partner 
dependent coverage. 

 
For New York State Active Employees: 

 
First Eligible         Coverage Begins   

If you apply within 7 days or less since 
first date of eligibility 

On the date first eligible 

If you apply more than 7 days since first 
date of eligibility, but less than 30 days 

On the date of application if it coincides 
with the first day of a pay period; 
otherwise, it begins on the first day of the 
next pay period. 

If you apply more than 30 days since first 
date of eligibility 

On the first day of the fifth pay period 
following the pay period in which you 
apply 

 

For New York State Retirees, Vestees, and COBRA Enrollees and for both Active and Retired 

Employees of Participating Employers: 

 

First Eligible  Coverage Begins   
If you apply within 7 days or less since 
first date of eligibility 

On the date first eligible 

If you apply more than 7 days since first 
date of eligibility, but less than 30 days 

On the first day of the month following the 
month in which you apply 

If you apply more than 30 days since first 
date of eligibility 

On the first day of the third month 
following the month in which you apply 

 
How to Apply  

 
Submit the following items to the appropriate office: 
 
Form PS-425.1, Application for enrolling Domestic Partners and Affidavit of Domestic Partnership in the 
New York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP) with supporting documentation as noted on the form 
Form PS-425.3, NYSHIP Dependent Tax Affidavit 
Photocopy of your Domestic Partner’s Birth Certificate 
Photocopy of your Domestic Partner’s Social Security Card 
Photocopy of your Domestic Partner’s Medicare Card (if applicable) 
Photocopy of your Divorce Decree (if applicable) 
 
Active employees must also complete an additional Form PS-404, Health Insurance Transaction, which can 
be obtained from your agency Health Benefits Administrator in your personnel office. 
 
Applications filed without the required affidavit or proofs will not be processed.  If all required 
documentation is not submitted within 30 days of the signed Form PS-404, Health Insurance Transaction, it 
will no longer be accepted.  A new Form PS-404, Health Insurance Transaction will need to be completed, 
and the later signed request will be used as the date of request. Proof dated over one year will not be 
accepted. Ambiguity or lack of clarity will not be interpreted in the employee’s favor. 
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Where to Submit Your Domestic Partner Application and Supporting Documentation 

 
Active Employees: Submit the required forms and proofs to your agency’s Health Benefits Administrator 
located in the personnel office where you work. 

 
Retirees, Vestees and COBRA enrollees: Submit the required forms and proofs to the New York State 
Department of Civil Service, Employee Benefits Division, Alfred E. Smith State Office Building, Albany, 
NY 12239. 

 
You Must Report When a Domestic Partnership Has Ended        

 
NYSHIP dependent coverage for your Domestic Partner will end on the date your domestic partnership ends 
or when you are no longer able to provide proof of your domestic partnership as required by NYSHIP. You 
must complete and submit Form PS-425.4, Termination of Domestic Partnership, within 60 days of the date 
the relationship ends or cannot be documented. This form can be obtained in your personnel office, or the 
Employee Benefits Division of the Department of Civil Service. 
 
If you do not file Form PS-425.4 on a timely basis, there may be claims that were paid for services rendered 
on and after the date the domestic partnership ended for which that you will liable.  Also, failure to remove 
an ineligible Domestic Partner may result in disciplinary action by your employer or prosecution for 
insurance fraud.  
 

  In addition, when covering a child of a Domestic Partner, the child’s coverage will also end unless you can 
document each child’s eligibility as an “Other Child”. 
 

Note: You may not enroll another Domestic Partner, or reenroll the same Domestic Partner, until one year 
after the date the Termination of Domestic Partnership form is filed. Your former Domestic Partner’s  
60- day eligibility period for applying for COBRA continuation coverage starts on the date the relationship 
terminated, not the date you file the Form PS-425.4. 
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