NEW YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM (NYSHIP)
FOR ACTIVE EMPLOYEES OF PARTICIPATING EMPLOYERS

And for their enrolled Dependents,
COBRA Enrollees with their NYSHIP Benefits and Young Adult Option Enrollees

Young Adult Option Coverage

As the result of a change in NYS
Insurance Law, effective January 1, 2010,
unmarried Young Adults through

age 29 are eligible for NYSHIP health
insurance coverage under the “Young
Adult Option.”

The Young Adult Option does not
change NYSHIP’s maximum age
criteria for dependent coverage
available to enrollees, but allows the
adult child of an enrollee who meets
the established criteria to purchase
individual health insurance coverage
through NYSHIP when the Young
Adult does not otherwise qualify as a
NYSHIP dependent. Either the Young
Adult or his/her parent may enroll the
Young Adult in the Young Adult
Option, and either may elect to be
billed for the NYSHIP premium.

The cost of the Young Adult Option

is the Full Share Individual premium.
Refer to the Amendment on page 2
for eligibility criteria and other
additional details.

A Young Adult is entitled to the same
health insurance coverage as his/her
parent provided the Young Adult lives,
works or resides in New York State or
the insurer’s service area. Additionally,
NYSHIP will permit a Young Adult

to enroll in any other NYSHIP option
for which the Young Adult otherwise
qualifies for enrollment under NYSHIP
rules. This means that a Young

Adult may:

¢ Enroll in The Empire Plan
regardless of the parent’s option;

¢ Enroll in the same HMO as the
parent if the Young Adult lives,
works or resides in the HMO’s
service area or in New York State; or

¢ Enroll in a NYSHIP HMO that the
parent is not enrolled in if the
Young Adult lives or works within
the HMO service area.

There is an initial open enrollment
period for the Young Adult Option
throughout 2010. Beginning in 2011
there will be a 30-day annual open
enrollment period. Additionally, a
Young Adult may enroll when NYSHIP
eligibility is lost due to age or when a
Young Adult is newly eligible because of
a change in circumstances, such as loss
of employer-sponsored health benefits.

The Young Adult Option application,
rates and FAQs are available on

the Department’s web site at:
https://www.cs.state.ny.us/
youngadultoptionnype/index.cfm.
Or you may contact the Employee
Benefits Division at 518-457-5754
(Albany area) or 1-800-833-4344 for
additional information and to enroll.

New York State: Supplemental
Continuation of Coverage

Effective January 1, 2010, The Empire
Plan adopted New York State legislation
to allow enrollees who have exhausted
their federal Consolidated Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA)
coverage to extend NYSHIP coverage
for an additional 18 months under the
state’s continuation of coverage law.

Under the new legislation, if you lose
COBRA coverage because you have
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reached the end of your 18 or 29 month
continuation period, you may request
additional coverage under the New York
State Insurance Law that will extend
coverage until the earlier of:

¢ 36 months (combined length
of COBRA and New York State
coverage);

o The end of the period in which
premiums were last paid;

o The date the enrollee becomes
entitled to Medicare benefits; or

e The date New York State no longer
provides group health care
coverage to any of its enrollees.

Enrollees will have 60 days from the
later of the end of their COBRA
continuation period or receipt of
notice of eligibility to apply in writing
for the New York State Continuation
of Coverage. The cost of coverage
continuation will be the full premium
cost for individual coverage plus

a two percent administrative fee.



Keep this Report with your August 1, 2001 New York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP)
General Information Book. Where this document differs _from your Book and later

Changes / Clarifications included in NYSHIP Health Maintenance Organizations Reports,

this is the controlling document.

January 2010

Changes to NYSHIP General Information Book

NEW YORK STATE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM
(NYSHIP)

Add the following as the second paragraph of “Your Spouse” under “Your
Dependents” in the “Who is Eligible” section on page 4 of your NYSHIP General
Information Book.

Your Spouse In addition, persons who are party to a same sex marriage validly entered
into in a Jurisdiction where same sex marriage is permitted are eligible for
spousal benefits.

Substitute the following for the paragraph entitled “Note on Tax Implications:”
under “Or your domestic partner” in the “Who is Eligible” section on page 4 of your
NYSHIP General Information Book.

Domestic Note on Tax Implications: Under the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rules,

Partner the fair market value of health insurance benefits is treated as income for
tax purposes. Ask your tax consultant how enrolling your domestic
partner will affect your taxes.

Substitute the following for “Medical leave for students age 19 or over” under
“3. Your child age 19 years or over who is a full-time student” in the “Who is Eligible”
section on page 6 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

Medical leave If your dependent child is granted a medical leave by the school or

for students age changes from full-time to part-time status due to serious injury or illness,

19 or over health insurance coverage will continue for a maximum of one year from
the month in which the student status changes, plus any time before the
start of the next regular semester. You must provide written
documentation from the school and/or doctor.

Substitute the following for the first sentence of the first paragraph of “5. Disabled
dependents” under “Your dependents” on page 6 of your NYSHIP General

Information Book.
Disabled Your unmarried dependent children age 19 or over who are incapable
Dependents of self sustaining employment because of mental illness, developmental

disability, mental retardation as defined in the mental hygiene law or
physical handicap who became incapacitated before the age at which
dependent coverage would otherwise be terminated are eligible.
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Cost

Eligibility

Available
Coverage

Add the following immediately after “Proof of eligibility” on page 7 of your NYSHIP
General Information Book.
Young Adult Option
The Young Adult Option allows the Young Adult child of a NYSHIP enrollee
to purchase individual health insurance coverage through NYSHIP when
the Young Adult does not otherwise qualify as a dependent under NYSHIP.
The Young Adult or his/her parent must pay a separate premium for the
Young Adult Option. There will be no employer contribution by the State
toward the cost of the Young Adult Option. The Young Adult or his/her
parent are required to pay the full cost of premium for individual coverage
for the NYSHIP option selected for coverage.
In order for a Young Adult to be eligible to enroll in NYSHIP under the
Young Adult Option, the Young Adult must:
1. be a child, adopted child, or step-child of a NYSHIP enrollee
(including those enrolled under COBRA);

2. be age 29 or younger;
3. be unmarried;

4. not be insured by or eligible for coverage through the young
adult’'s own employer-sponsored health plan, whether insured or
self-funded, provided that the health plan includes both hospital
and medical benefits;

5. live, work or reside in New York State or the insurer’s service area;
and

6. not be covered under Medicare.
Eligibility for NYSHIP enrollment under the Young Adult Option ends
when one of the following occurs:

1. the Young Adult voluntarily terminates coverage;

2. the Young Adult’s parent is no longer enrolled in NYSHIP;

3. the Young Adult no longer meets the eligibility requirements for the
Young Adult Option as outlined above;

4. the NYSHIP premium for the Young Adult is not paid in full within
the 30-day grace period.

Termination of coverage under the Young Adult Option does not cause a
“qualifying event;” therefore, the Young Adult has no right to federal
COBRA coverage or State continuation coverage when the Young Adult
coverage ends.

A Young Adult is entitled to the same health insurance coverage as
his/her parent provided the Young Adult lives, works or resides in New
York State or the insurer’s service area. Additionally, NYSHIP will permit
a Young Adult to enroll in any other NYSHIP option for which the Young
Adult otherwise qualifies for enrollment under NYSHIP rules. A Young
Adult may:

1. Enroll in The Empire Plan regardless of the parent’s option;

2. Enroll in the same HMO as the parent if the Young Adult lives,
works or resides in the HMO'’s service area or in New York State; or

3. Enroll in a NYSHIP HMO that the parent is not enrolled in if the
Young Adult lives, works or resides within the HMO service area.

HMO-PE-10-1
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Rules
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Continuation of
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Either the Young Adult or his/her parent may enroll the Young Adult in
the Young Adult Option, and either may elect to be billed for the Young
Adult’'s NYSHIP premium.

A Young Adult has the following opportunities to be enrolled in the Young
Adult Option:

1. When the Young Adult Would Otherwise Lose Coverage Due to Age

Coverage may be elected within 60 days of the date that the Young
Adult otherwise would lose eligibility for coverage, as his/her parent’s
dependent, due to age. Coverage is retroactive to the date that the
Young Adult lost coverage due to age. This is the only circumstance in
which the Young Adult Option will be effective on a retroactive basis.

2. During the Young Adult Option Open Enrollment Period

Coverage may be elected by an eligible Young Adult at any time
during calendar year 2010. Beginning in 2011 coverage may be
elected during the Young Adult Option annual 30-day open
enrollment period. Coverage will be effective no later than 30 days
after NYSHIP receives written notice of the election and payment of
the first month premium.

3. When the Young Adult is Newly Qualified Due to a Change
in Circumstances

Coverage may be elected within 60 days of the date that the Young
Adult newly meets the eligibility requirements for the Young Adult
Option, such as loses coverage through his/her employer; moves
his/her residence into New York State; or gets divorced. It is possible
for a Young Adult to elect coverage under this option on multiple
occasions due to changes in the Young Adult’s eligibility over time.
Coverage will be effective prospectively, no later than 30 days after
NYSHIP receives written notice of the election and payment of the
first monthly premium.

Add the following after “Exceptions for new dependents” in the “Coverage: Individual
or Family” section on page 9 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

Exception for Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and Medicaid

If you or your dependent(s) are otherwise eligible to enroll in NYSHIP
and you lose Eligibility under CHIP or Medicaid or you become eligible for
premium assistance from the State under its CHIP or Medicaid program,
you have special rights to enroll in NYSHIP. If you request enrollment
for yourself and/or your dependent(s) within 60 days after the loss of
eligibility under CHIP or Medicaid or the date you are determined to be
eligible for premium assistance, you are not subject to a waiting period
and your NYSHIP coverage may begin on the effective date of that event.

Substitute the following for the “COBRA: Continuation of Coverage” section on
page 23 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

COBRA: Continuation coverage: important benefit

This section explains your rights under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act (COBRA), a federal continuation of coverage law for you
and your covered dependents. The law requires that most employers
sponsoring group health plans offer employees and their families the
opportunity for a temporary extension of health care coverage called
“continuation coverage” at group rates in certain instances where coverage
under the program would otherwise end. The health care benefits you may



continue are the same benefits you receive as an active employee enrolled
in the New York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP). There is also
no change in benefits when your dependent enrolls in COBRA.

This section summarizes your rights and obligations under the
continuation coverage provisions of the law. If your spouse or domestic
partner is also covered under NYSHIP, your spouse or domestic partner
should take the time to read this carefully.

Who is eligible?

If you have canceled your NYSHIP enrollment while on leave under the Family
and Medical Leave Act, and do not return to work, you may choose COBRA
coverage. Enrollees who are entitled to receive Medicare benefits may enroll
for COBRA coverage following a COBRA-qualifying event. Note: “Entitled to
receive Medicare benefits” means that the person could submit claims to
Medicare and receive reimbursement, not just being eligible to enroll by
virtue of being over 65, for instance, or being in a Medicare waiting period.

You

If you are an active employee enrolled in NYSHIP, you have a right to
choose this continuation coverage if you lose your group health care
coverage because of a reduction in your hours of employment or the
termination of employment.

Your spouse/domestic partner

The spouse or domestic partner of an active employee covered by NYSHIP
has the right to choose continuation coverage if the spouse’s or partner’s
coverage under NYSHIP is lost for any of the following reasons:

1. The death of the employee;
2.Termination of the employee’s employment;
3. Reduction in employee’s hours of employment;

4. Divorce or legal separation, or termination of domestic partnership
(Spouse does not automatically lose coverage in NYSHIP if legally
separated from employee. However, if legally separated and the
employee chooses to discontinue the spouse’s dependent coverage
under NYSHIP, the spouse is eligible to continue coverage under
COBRA);

5. Employee is a COBRA enrollee and becomes entitled to receive
Medicare benefits.
Dependent children

A dependent child of an employee covered by NYSHIP has the right to
continuation coverage if coverage under NYSHIP is lost for any of the
following reasons:

1. The dependent ceases to be an eligible “dependent child” under
NYSHIP;

2.The termination of a parent’s employment;
3. A reduction in hours of a parent’s employment with New York State;

4. Parents’ divorce or legal separation. (Note: Under NYSHIP, a
dependent child does not automatically lose coverage because of
parents’ legal separation);

5. A parent who is a COBRA enrollee becomes entitled to receive
Medicare benefits; or

6.The death of a parent.

HMO-PE-10-1
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Choice of option and coverage

An employee, spouse/domestic partner or dependent child who continues
coverage under COBRA will continue in the same option in which the
employee was enrolled. A COBRA enrollee may change to a different
option during the annual Option Transfer Period or when moving under
the circumstances described in “Changing options outside the Option
Transfer Period” on page 2. When two or more persons (enrollee,
spouse/domestic partner, children) covered under the same Family
contract seek COBRA coverage as a result of the same qualifying event,
they must continue Family coverage; they may not elect Individual COBRA
coverages, unless both spouses/domestic partners are State employees,
until the next Option Transfer Period. During the Option Transfer Period,
each COBRA beneficiary may elect to change to Individual coverage in a
different plan from that of the family unit.

Proof of insurability

You do not have to show that you are insurable to choose continuation
coverage.

60-day deadline to apply in writing for COBRA

Under COBRA, the employee or a_family member is responsible for
informing the Employee Benefits Division of the New York State
Department of Civil Service of a divorce or termination of a domestic
partnership, of the Social Security determination that a qualified
beneficiary was disabled at the time of the employee’s termination or
reduction in hours, or of a child’s losing eligible dependent status under
NYSHIP, within 60 days from the date coverage ends. Other people acting
on your behalf may provide written notice to the Employee Benefits
Division of a COBRA-qualifying event.

If the Employee Benefits Division does not receive notice in writing
within that 60-day period, regardless of the reason, the enrollee or
dependent will not be entitled to choose continuation coverage. Your
Participating Employer is responsible for notifying the Employee Benefits
Division of a reduction in your hours or termination of your employment.

When you or your agency Health Benefits Administrator notifies the
Employee Benefits Division of an event that entitles you to COBRA
coverage, the Division will, in turn, notify you, the employee, that you
have the right to choose continuation coverage. If the Division indicates
that you do have the right, you must then inform the Employee Benefits
Division that you want continuation coverage within 60 days from the
date you would lose coverage because of a qualifying event or 60 days
from the date you are notified of your eligibility for continuation of
coverage, whichever is later.

A dependent (spouse/domestic partner or child) who loses NYSHIP
coverage and wishes to continue coverage as a COBRA enrollee must
send a written request to the Employee Benefits Division within 60
days from the date coverage would otherwise end.

If you or your eligible dependent, or someone else acting on your behalf,
does not choose continuation coverage, NYSHIP insurance coverage will end.
If you choose continuation coverage, New York State is required to offer
you coverage which, as of the time coverage is being provided, is identical
to the coverage provided under the plan to similarly situated employees or
family members.



How long you may keep COBRA coverage

You, the employee, will have the opportunity to maintain continuation
coverage for 18 months. However, the continuation coverage period will
be extended to 29 months for you and your enrolled dependents if you
or a dependent is disabled (under Social Security Act provisions defining
disabilities). If you are disabled under Social Security at the time of
COBRA election, you must notify the Employee Benefits Division within
the first 60 days of COBRA coverage in order to qualify for the 11-month
extension for the disabled. If you become disabled under Social Security
during COBRA continuation, you must notify the Employee Benefits
Division within 60 days of the date of the notice of disability and prior

to the end of the 18-month COBRA continuation period in order to qualify
for the 11-month extension period.

If, during your 18- or 29-month continuation coverage period, another
event takes place that would entitle a dependent spouse or child to his
or her own continuation coverage, the continuation coverage may be
extended for the spouse or child. However, in no case will any period of
continuation coverage be more than 36 months from the original COBRA
qualifying event.

Dependents who were covered at the time of your initial qualifying event,
and newborns or newly adopted children added to your COBRA
continuation coverage within 30 days of birth or final adoption during
your period of COBRA coverage, are considered qualified beneficiaries
with their own rights to continue COBRA coverage for up to 36 months

in the event of a second qualifying event. Other dependents added to your
COBRA coverage, such as a newly acquired spouse or child who returns
to school full-time, do not have continuation rights apart from yours.

An enrolled spouse/domestic partner and dependent children who lose
NYSHIP eligibility due to a COBRA qualifying event have the opportunity
to maintain COBRA continuation coverage for up to 36 months.

Medicare and COBRA

The coverage you have first, COBRA or Medicare, affects your eligibility
for coverage.

e If you are already covered under Medicare when you apply for
COBRA: You may continue NYSHIP coverage under COBRA.

e If you are already covered under COBRA when you become eligible
for Medicare: If you enroll in Medicare, your NYSHIP coverage under
COBRA ends as soon as your Medicare coverage becomes effective.

If you are not enrolled in Medicare when you are first eligible, your
eligibility for NYSHIP coverage under COBRA continues until your COBRA
continuation period runs out or you do become covered under Medicare,
but you will be responsible for Medicares share of your bills. Under New
York State law, HMOs and The Empire Plan carriers do not pay for any
medical expenses that would have been paid by Medicare whether or not
you are actually enrolled in Medicare. This means that large portions of
your medical expenses may not be paid by either Medicare or your
NYSHIP plan. In addition, under Medicare late enrollment rules, if you do
not enroll in Parts A and B when first eligible, when you do enroll you may
have a waiting period for Medicare to begin and the cost of your Medicare
monthly premiums will be higher when you do enroll. If you do not join
Medicare and you keep your NYSHIP coverage under COBRA, you will be
reimbursed for the base cost of the Medicare Part B premium when
Medicare automatically becomes primary to NYSHIP at 65.

HMO-PE-10-1
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When you no longer qualify for COBRA coverage
Continuation coverage may be cut short for any one of the following reasons:

1.If New York State no longer provides group health care coverage for
any enrollees of its Participating Employers; or

2.1f the premium for your continuation coverage is not paid on time; or

3.The continuation period of 18 months, 29 months or 36 months
ends; or

4.1f you become eligible for Medicare after enrolling in COBRA, your
COBRA coverage ends when you become entitled to receive Medicare
benefits. (In this case, your covered dependents may continue COBRA
coverage for up to 18 months (or 29 months if entitled to the 11-month
disability extension) from their original COBRA qualifying event.)

Costs under COBRA

COBRA enrollees pay 100 percent of the premium for continuation
coverage plus a two percent administrative fee. (If your coverage continues
beyond 18 months due to a determination of disability under the Social
Security Act, the administrative fee may increase to 50 percent for the 19th
through the 29th month.) The Employee Benefits Division will send the
COBRA enrollee monthly bills for the COBRA premium. COBRA enrollees
will have an initial grace period of 45 days starting with the date they
choose continuation coverage to pay any premium; and after that initial
45-day grace period, they will have a grace period of at least 30 days to
pay any subsequent premiums. Payment is considered made on the date
of the postmark.

To cancel COBRA

Notify the Employee Benefits Division in writing if you want to cancel your
COBRA coverage.

Conversion rights after COBRA coverage ends

At the end of the 18-month, 29-month or three-year continuation coverage
period, you will be allowed to convert to direct-pay conversion contracts
with The Empire Plan’s hospital and/or medical carrier if you are enrolled
in The Empire Plan, or with your HMO if you are an HMO enrollee.

If you choose COBRA coverage, you must exhaust those benefits before
converting to a direct-pay conversion contract. If you choose COBRA
coverage and fail to make the required payments or cancel coverage for
any reason, you will not be eligible to convert to an individual policy.

Whom to contact

If you have any questions about COBRA, please contact your agency
Health Benefits Administrator.

Effective July 1, 2009. If you lose COBRA coverage because you have
reached the end of your 18 or 29 month continuation period, you are
eligible for a supplemental continuation of coverage from the State of
New York. This extended coverage will continue until the earlier of 36
months (combined length of COBRA and New York State continuation
coverage) or until you no longer qualify for COBRA coverage (other than
18 or 29 month limits) as stated in the “When you no longer qualify for
COBRA coverage” section under “COBRA: Continuation of Coverage” above.

The enrollee will pay the full premium cost plus a 2 percent administrative
fee for this coverage continuation.



Medicare
Reimbursement

Substitute the following for “Medicare premium reimbursement” and
“Reimbursement for dependents not automatic” in the “Medicare: When you must
enroll and coordinating with NYSHIP” section on page 26 of your NYSHIP General
Information Boolk.

Medicare premium reimbursement

If you or your dependent is Medicare primary, the State or your
Participating Employer will reimburse you for the usual (base) cost of
“original” Medicare Part B monthly premiums unless you are receiving
reimbursement from another source.

The Medicare Income-Related Monthly Adjustment Amount (IRMAA) is a
federal law that requires some people to pay a higher premium for their
Medicare Part B coverage based on their income. If you are required to pay
an income-related monthly adjustment amount in addition to the
standard Medicare Part B premium, you are eligible to be reimbursed for
this additional premium by NYSHIP or your Participating Employer.

Retirees, vestees, dependent survivors, enrollees covered under Preferred
List provisions, COBRA enrollees and covered spouses/domestic partners
who become Medicare primary at age 65 are automatically reimbursed for
the prevailing standard Medicare Part B premium. Enrollees and covered
dependents who become Medicare primary before age 65 because of
disability or end-stage renal disease must apply for reimbursement. You
must take a photocopy of your dependent’s Medicare identification card to
your agency Health Benefits Administrator. Be sure to include your name
and identification number on the photocopy. If you are not an active
employee, contact the Employee Benefits Division at 518-457-5754
(Albany area) or 1-800-833-4344.

To claim the IRMAA reimbursement, above the standard Medicare Part B
premium, eligible enrollees are required to apply for and document the
amount paid in excess of the standard Medicare Part B premium.

For information on how to apply, a list of documents required or questions
on IRMAA, you may call the Employee Benefits Division at 457-5754

(if you are located in the 518 area code) or 1-800-833-4344 between the
hours of 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

HMO-PE-10-1
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Reminders

Dependent Verification

In the November 2008 NYSHIP Health
Maintenance Report and through
information you received from Budco
Health Service Solutions (Budco), we
notified enrollees with family coverage
that they were required to submit
documentation of eligibility for each
of their dependents (covered under
NYSHIP) to Budco, the vendor
contracted to perform the Dependent
Eligibility Verification Project. If you
received a letter from Budco stating
that your dependent is ineligible
because you did not respond to their
request for documentation, or
because you submitted incomplete
documentation, your dependent was
removed from coverage retroactively
to February 1, 2009.

To reinstate coverage for any eligible
dependents removed from coverage,
you must provide proof of eligibility
directly to the Department of Civil
Service. If you have questions,

please visit the Department of

Civil Service web site at
www.cs.state.ny.us/nyshipeligibility
project/ or call 1-800-409-9059 Monday
through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Eastern Time. The toll free telephone
number will be available through
June 30, 2010.

10 HMO-PE-10-1

Medicare Part B
Premium Reimbursement

For most enrollees eligible for
Medicare, the base cost for the
Medicare Part B premium is $96.40 per
month the same as it was in 2009.
However, if you and/or your covered
dependent are new to Medicare in 2010
or if your Part B premium is not
deducted from your Social Security
check(s) the standard Part B premium
for 2010 will be $110.50 per month.

If you or your dependent is Medicare
primary, NYSHIP automatically
reimburses you for the base cost of the
Part B premium unless you receive
reimbursement from another source.
Due to programming constraints,
NYSHIP cannot automatically
reimburse you for a premium amount
other than the standard premium

of $96.40. Therefore, if you or your
dependent pays a higher premium,
you will need to apply for
reimbursement of any amount over
$96.40. (Note: NYSHIP will not
reimburse any penalty charged for

late enrollment in Medicare, nor will
it duplicate Medicare reimbursement
received from another employer.) If
your Medicare B premium is $110.50
per month, send a copy of the letter
you received from the Social Security
Administration or a copy of your
Medicare Premium Payment bill to the
Department of Civil Service and you
will receive a quarterly reimbursement
check for $42.30.

Reimbursement of the Medicare
Part B Income-Related Monthly

Adjustment Amount (IRMAA) for
Medicare-Primary Enrollees

Medicare Law requires some people to
pay a higher premium for their
Medicare Part B coverage based on
their income. If you and/or any of your
enrolled dependents are Medicare-
primary and received a letter from the
Social Security Administration (SSA)
requiring the payment of an income-
related monthly adjustment amount
(IRMAA) in addition to the standard
Medicare Part B premium ($96.40) for
2009, you are eligible to be reimbursed
for this additional premium by
NYSHIP. Note: If your 2007 adjusted
gross income was less than or equal to
$85,000 ($170,000 if you filed taxes as
married filing jointly) you are

NOT eligible for any additional
reimbursement this year.

To claim the additional IRMAA
reimbursement, eligible enrollees are
required to apply for and document the
amount paid in excess of the standard
premium. For information on how to
apply, a list of the documents required
or questions on IRMAA, check the
Department of Civil Service web site
at https://www.cs.state.ny.us. Choose
Benefit Programs on the home page,
then NYSHIP Online and select

your group, if prompted. The IRMAA
letter was mailed to Medicare Part B
reimbursement-eligible enrollees

in January 2010 and will be available
under What’s New on the NYSHIP
Online home page. Or call the
Employee Benefits Division at
518-457-5754 (if you are located in
the 518 area code) or 1-800-833-4344
between the hours of 9:00 a.m.

and 3:00 p.m.

Continued on next page



Reminders, continued

Medicare General Enrollment

If you or

your dependent
is eligible

for primary
Medicare
coverage because
of end-stage renal
disease or domestic partner

status and did not enroll in Medicare
when first eligible, you must sign up
during the Medicare general enrollment
period, January 1 to March 31, 2010.
Contact your local Social Security

office or call 1-800-772-1213 to enroll.
NYSHIP requires you and your covered
dependents to be enrolled in Medicare
Parts A and B when first eligible for
Medicare coverage that pays primary

to NYSHIP.

The 2010 Census

The census is a count of everyone

living in the United States. This
includes people of all ages, races, ethnic
groups, both citizens and non-citizens.
Census questionnaires will be mailed

in March 2010.

It’s Easy - The questionnaire contains
only a few simple questions and takes
just a few minutes to answer and
return, postage free, by mail.

Safe - The Census Bureau protects
information that identifies respondents
and their households for 72 years.

And Important - It determines the
annual distribution of $300 billion

of government funding for critical
community services and generates
thousands of jobs across the country.
Participation ensures New Yorkers get
their fair share of government funding,
census jobs and Congressional seats.

Annual Notice of Mastectomy and

Reconstructive Surgery Benefits

By law, insurers must:

Cover inpatient hospital care
for lymph node dissection,
lumpectomy and mastectomy
for treatment of breast cancer
for as long as the physician and

patient determine hospitalization

is medically necessary

Cover breast reconstruction
following mastectomy,
including surgery of the
other breast to produce a
symmetrical appearance

Cover treatment for
complications of mastectomy,
including lymphedemas

Cover prostheses related
to breast reconstruction

Notify enrollees of this coverage

through plan documents

Contact your HMO if you have
questions about these benefits.

The NYSHIP Health Maintenance

Organizations Report is published by the

Employee Benefits Division of the State

of New York Department of Civil Service.

(U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)

MYSHIP

New York State Health Insurance Program

State of New York
Department of Civil Service
Employee Benefits Division

Albany, New York 12239
518-457-5754 (Albany area)
1-800-833-4344

https://www.cs.state.ny.us
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Please do not send mail or
correspondence to the return
address. See page 11 for
Il address information.

It is the policy of the State of New York Department of Civil Service to provide reasonable accommodation to ensure effective communication of
information in benefits publications to individuals with disabilities. These publications are also available on the Department of Civil Service web
site (https:/www.cs.state.ny.us). Click on Benefit Programs, then NYSHIP Online for timely information that meets universal accessibility
standards adopted by New York State for NYS agency web sites. If you need an auxiliary aid or service to make benefits information available to you,
please contact your agency Health Benefits Administrator. New York State and Participating Employer Retirees and COBRA Enrollees: Contact the
Employee Benefits Division at 518-457-5754 (Albany area) or 1-800-833-4344 (U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands).
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