
Covering Your Young Adult Children
Effective January 1, 2011, the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) 
requires insurers to offer young adult children coverage as dependents on their parents’ 
health insurance up to age 26. Financial dependency, student status, marital status, 
employment and residency can no longer be used to determine eligibility. Although the 
new law extends coverage to married children, it does not apply to the married child’s 
spouse or children.

You can add a young adult child (up to age 26) to your family coverage at no additional  
cost. If you currently have individual coverage and would like to add a young adult child as  
a dependent, you will need to change to family coverage; a waiting period may apply. See 
your agency Health Benefits Administrator (HBA) for more details or to add a dependent. 

Family coverage rates are available on the New York State Department of Civil Service 
web site at https://www.cs.ny.gov. From the home page, click on Benefit Programs and 
follow the prompts to access NYSHIP Online. Click on Health Benefits & Option 
Transfer and then select Rates and Health Plan Choices.

A young adult child under the age of 26 on January 1, 2011 and enrolled as a dependent 
will continue to be enrolled until age 26, unless you choose to take him or her off your 
plan. Coverage as a dependent will end on the last day of the month in which the young 
adult child turns 26 years old. 

A dependent child age 26 or over who has served in a branch of the U.S. Military may 
qualify for up to four additional years of health insurance coverage (as a dependent), 
provided he or she is unmarried and a full-time student. You must be able to provide 
written documentation from the U.S. Military and the student’s school. 

When a young adult child loses eligibility for health insurance coverage, he or she may  
be entitled to continue coverage for up to 36 months under the federal Consolidated 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) and the New York State Continuation  
of Coverage Law. A young adult child may also be eligible to purchase his or her own 
NYSHIP coverage through the New York State Young Adult Option up to age 30. 

Enrollment in the Young Adult Option is offered during the annual open enrollment period at 
the end of each year or whenever the young adult child experiences a qualifying event, such 
as loss of eligibility for other coverage, provided application is made on a timely basis. For 
more information about continuation coverage or NYSHIP’s Young Adult Option, see your 
agency HBA. Details are in the NYSHIP General Information Book amendment on page 5.
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Reminders 2011
Pre-Retirement Seminars
The Governor’s Office of Employee Relations 
(GOER) in partnership with the Office of the State 
Comptroller presents Pre-Retirement Seminars.  
As part of the seminars, a representative from the 
Employee Benefits Division will explain the New 
York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP) 
and your choices before you leave the payroll.

Call your personnel office to learn if there is a 
seminar available in your area and to reserve  
your place. Be sure to bring your personal 
confirmation letter from GOER when you attend.  
The New York State Department of Civil Service  
web site, https://www.cs.ny.gov, also has the 
seminar schedule. Click on Benefit Programs,  
select your group and benefit plan if prompted,  
and then on Calendar.

Since demand is greater than available seating  
at the seminars, you can also access helpful online 
pre-retirement resources at www.worklife.ny.gov/
preretirement/ or www.osc.state.ny.us/retire.  
In addition, you can view pre-retirement videos on 
YouTube by searching “NYS Pre-Retirement Planning.”

There is also a helpful 25-minute DVD, Planning for 
Retirement, and a companion booklet that can be 
ordered online at https://www.cs.ny.gov. Click on 
Benefit Programs, then NYSHIP Online and select 
Planning to Retire? for more information.

 
 

Annual Notice of Mastectomy and 
Reconstructive Surgery Benefits
By law, insurers must:

• �Cover inpatient hospital care for lymph node 
dissection, lumpectomy and mastectomy for 
treatment of breast cancer for as long as the 
physician and patient determine hospitalization  
is medically necessary

• �Cover breast reconstruction following mastectomy, 
including surgery of the other breast to produce a 
symmetrical appearance 

• �Cover treatment for complications of mastectomy, 
including lymphedemas 

• �Cover prostheses related to breast reconstruction

• �Notify enrollees of this coverage through plan 
documents 

Contact your HMO if you have questions about  
these benefits.

Continued on page 8
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New Web Site Address
The New York State Department of  
Civil Service web site address has  
changed to https://www.cs.ny.gov.  
Even though you can still access our site  
at the old address, 
please update your 
bookmarks for our 
web site to the new 
address. The old 
address will only work 
for a limited time.



NYSHIP HMO General Information Book Amendments
Civil Service Employees Association
For Employees of New York State represented by Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) 
enrolled in NYSHIP-approved Health Maintenance Organizations, their enrolled Dependents,  
COBRA Enrollees with their benefits and Young Adult Option Enrollees
Keep these amendments with your April 1, 2001 New York State Health Insurance  
Program General Information Book.

New York State Department of Civil Service 
Employee Benefits Division 
https://www.cs.ny.gov
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Amendments on the following pages are effective on January 1, 2011 unless individually dated. Keep this 
Report with your April 1, 2001 New York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP) General Information Book. 
Where this document differs from your Book and later Changes/Clarifications included in NYSHIP Health 
Maintenance Organizations Reports, this is the controlling document.

New York State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP)
Substitute the following for items 1. through 5. under “Your Dependents” in the “Who is Eligible” section on  
pages 4-7 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

1. Your Spouse
Your spouse, including a legally separated spouse, is eligible. If you are divorced or your marriage has been 
annulled, your former spouse is not eligible, even if a court orders you to maintain coverage. If your marriage 
ends, you must notify your agency Health Benefits Administrator and end coverage for your spouse effective 
the date the marriage ends. Your spouse may be able to continue coverage under COBRA (see COBRA: 
Continuation of Coverage).

In addition, persons who are party to a same-sex marriage, validly entered into in a jurisdiction where  
same-sex marriage is permitted, are eligible for spousal benefits.

Note on Tax Implications for an enrollee with a same-sex spouse: Under the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
rules, the fair market value of health insurance benefits is treated as income for tax purposes. Ask your tax 
consultant how enrolling your same-sex spouse will affect your taxes.

In addition, under Social Security law, Medicare is primary for an active employee’s same-sex spouse who 
becomes Medicare-eligible at age 65. If the same-sex spouse becomes Medicare-eligible due to disability, 
NYSHIP is primary. (See Medicare: When You Must Enroll and Coordinating with NYSHIP.)

In other respects, throughout the General Information Book, coverage for spouses and same-sex spouses is  
the same.

Or your domestic partner
You may cover your same or opposite sex domestic partner as your dependent under NYSHIP. A domestic 
partnership, for eligibility under NYSHIP, is one in which you and your partner are 18 years of age or older, 
unmarried and not related in a way that would bar marriage, living together, involved in a lifetime relationship 
and financially interdependent. To enroll a domestic partner, you must have been in the partnership for six 
months and be able to provide proof of residency and financial interdependence. Agency Health Benefits 
Administrators have complete information on eligibility, enrollment procedures and coverage dates.

To cover your domestic partner’s child, the standard NYSHIP provisions for adding a dependent apply.  
Note that waiting periods may apply when you enroll a dependent more than seven days after eligibility.

Note on Tax Implications for an enrollee with a domestic partner: Under the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) rules, the fair market value of health insurance benefits is treated as income for tax purposes. Ask your 
tax consultant how enrolling your domestic partner will affect your taxes.

If the partnership ends, you must notify your agency Health Benefits Administrator and end coverage for the 
domestic partner. Your domestic partner may be able to continue coverage under COBRA (see COBRA: 
Continuation of Coverage).

There will be a one-year waiting period from the termination date of your previous partner’s coverage before 
you may again enroll a domestic partner.
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Employees who fraudulently enroll a domestic partner are held financially and legally responsible for any 
benefits paid and are subject to disciplinary action. Such employees will forfeit future coverage.

If you die, your surviving domestic partner may be eligible to continue in NYSHIP; however, coverage will end 
if he or she marries or acquires a domestic partner. (If your surviving spouse acquires a domestic partner and 
your spouse is otherwise eligible, your spouse may continue coverage in NYSHIP, but may not cover the 
domestic partner.) See Coverage for Your Dependent Survivors to determine whether your partner is eligible.

Under Social Security law, Medicare is primary for an active employee’s domestic partner who becomes 
Medicare-eligible at age 65. If the domestic partner becomes Medicare-eligible due to disability, NYSHIP  
is primary. (See Medicare: When You Must Enroll and Coordinating with NYSHIP.)

In other respects, throughout the General Information Book, coverage for domestic partners and spouses is 
the same.

2. Your children under age 26
Your children under 26 years of age are eligible. This includes your natural children, stepchildren, children  
of domestic partners and legally adopted children, including children in a waiting period prior to finalization  
of adoption. Other children who are chiefly dependent on you and for whom you have assumed legal 
responsibility in place of the parent also are eligible; you must verify eligibility and provide documentation 
upon enrollment and every two years thereafter. 

Children age 26 and over with military service
For purposes of dependent eligibility for health insurance coverage, if your child is an unmarried, full-time student 
at an accredited secondary or preparatory school, college or other educational institution on the date he/she 
would otherwise lose coverage due to age, you may deduct from your child’s age up to four years for service  
in a branch of the U.S. Military. You must be able to provide written documentation from the U.S. Military and 
your child’s educational institution. 

Your unmarried full-time dependent student age 26 or over with military service continues to be eligible  
until the earlier of the following dates: 

•	 The end of the third month following the month in which the dependent completes a semester.

•	 The end of the month in which attendance at school ends if the semester is not completed and proof of 
the last day of attendance for the semester is provided or the end of the third month following the month 
that the last semester was completed, whichever is later.

•	 The starting date of the semester if the semester is not completed and no proof of attendance is  
provided or the end of the third month following the month that the last semester was completed, 
whichever is later.

•	 The end of the third month following the month in which they complete course requirements for 
graduation; or 

•	 The date the dependent child no longer qualifies under the military service provisions. 

If your child reaches the limiting age during a school vacation period, coverage will continue, as long as the 
child is enrolled in an accredited secondary or preparatory school or college or other accredited educational 
institution and plans to resume classes on a full-time basis at the end of the vacation period. Proof of 
enrollment may be required. 

Entering school When an enrollee with Family coverage applies for dependent student coverage for a dependent 
child who is age 26 or over with military service and is not currently a student, coverage will begin on the first day 
of the month in which attendance in class actually starts. When an enrollee with Individual coverage applies 
for a change to Family coverage in order to cover a dependent student who is entering school, the date 
coverage begins depends on the enrollee’s promptness in applying (see When your Family coverage begins). 
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Reduced course load If a dependent child who is age 26 or over with military service is enrolled as a full-time 
student and voluntarily drops a course and becomes a part-time student, coverage will end on the last day of 
the month in which the dependent child was considered a full-time student. The child must apply for COBRA 
coverage within 60 days of the NYSHIP termination date. If a dependent child becomes a part-time student 
because the school has canceled a course and the dependent child cannot register in another course to 
continue full-time status, coverage as a dependent student will continue through that semester as if the 
dependent child was a full-time student. 

Partially disabled students
A partially disabled dependent student with military service who is age 26 or over taking a reduced course 
load that is the maximum for that student’s capability is eligible; you must provide medical documentation. 

Medical leave
If your dependent student who is age 26 or over with military service is granted a medical leave by the school  
or changes from full-time to part-time status due to serious injury or illness, health insurance coverage will 
continue for a maximum of one year from the month in which the student status changes, plus any time 
before the start of the next regular semester. You must provide written documentation from the school  
and/or doctor.

Students completing graduation requirements
Your unmarried dependent children who are age 26 or over with military service who need less than a  
full-time course load to satisfy requirements for graduation may also be eligible. They must: 

	 1. Otherwise qualify; 

		  and

	 2. �Have been a full-time student in the term immediately preceding the semester or trimester in which 
course requirements will be completed; 

		  and

	 3. �Be able to provide a statement from their school or college administrator that verifies the student’s status.

They continue to be entitled to benefits for up to three months following the end of the month in which  
they complete course requirements for graduation. At the end of the three months, the graduated student 
will have 60 days to apply to the Employee Benefits Division for either New York State Young Adult Option 
Coverage or COBRA continuation of coverage. A dependent child may be granted a second semester of 
coverage during part-time attendance if there are unusual, extenuating circumstances, which, through no 
fault of the student, prevent that student’s timely graduation. Requests for this continued coverage must  
be submitted in writing to the Employee Benefits Division. 

3. Disabled dependents
Your unmarried dependent child age 26 or over who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because  
of mental illness, developmental disability, mental retardation as defined in the Mental Hygiene Law or physical 
handicap who became incapacitated before the age at which dependent coverage would otherwise be terminated 
in accordance with the eligibility rules in effect at the time the disability commenced is eligible.

To qualify for coverage as a disabled dependent, you must file a Disability Form PS-451 and provide medical 
documentation. Contact your agency Health Benefits Administrator prior to your child’s 26th birthday.

If your disabled dependent child was not enrolled in NYSHIP because the child had other health insurance, and 
loses the other coverage involuntarily, you may apply for disabled dependent child coverage. For your application 
to be considered, you must file a Disability Form PS-451 as soon as possible. You must provide proof that the 
disability occurred prior to the age that dependent coverage would otherwise be terminated in accordance with 
the eligibility rules in effect at the time the disability commenced and the loss of other coverage was involuntary.
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4. Coverage ends
Coverage ends on the last day of the month in which a dependent no longer qualifies for coverage.

Substitute the following for the first paragraph of “Changes permitted only after certain events” in the “Costs, Pre-Tax 
Program and What Your Paycheck Stub Shows” section on page 13 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

Changes Permitted
Under the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rules, you may change your health insurance deduction during the 
plan year only after one of the following PTCP-qualifying events: 

•	 You have a change in family status (e.g., marriage, adding a domestic partner, birth, death, legal 
separation, divorce, ending a domestic partner relationship or your only dependent child’s attaining the 
maximum age for coverage). 

•	 You are enrolled in an HMO and no longer live or work in that HMO’s service area, and you must choose 
another HMO or The Empire Plan.

•	 Your spouse/domestic partner loses coverage due to termination of employment and you apply for 
coverage for your spouse under NYSHIP. 

•	 You first become eligible for health insurance coverage after the beginning of the tax year. 

•	 Your employment with the State terminates or you retire. 

•	 Your spouse/domestic partner has a change in employment status that results in either acquiring or losing 
eligibility for health insurance coverage. 

•	 You receive a divorce/legal separation and are required under a court order to provide health insurance 
coverage for your eligible dependent children and/or legally separated spouse. 

•	 There is a significant change in your or your spouse’s/domestic partner’s health coverage that is 
attributable to your spouse’s/domestic partner’s employment. 

Dependent Survivors
Substitute the following for the first paragraph under the heading “Coverage after extended benefits period ends” 
in the “Coverage for Your Dependent Survivors” section on page 26 of your NYSHIP General Information Book.

Your unremarried spouse, or domestic partner who has not married or acquired another domestic partner, 
and eligible dependent children may be allowed to continue their coverage under NYSHIP after the extended 
benefits period ends. If they are eligible for dependent survivor coverage but choose not to participate 
or fail to make the required payments, coverage will end permanently. They may not re-enroll.

Medicare
Substitute “Domestic partner or same-sex spouse” for “domestic partner” wherever it appears in the  
“Medicare: When You Must Enroll and Coordinating with NYSHIP” section on page 30-33 of your NYSHIP  
General Information Book. 
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SAVE THIS DOCUMENT

Information for the Enrollee, Enrolled Spouse/  
Domestic Partner and Other Enrolled Dependents

CSEA HMO Report – January 2011

New York State 
Department of Civil Service 
Employee Benefits Division 
P.O. Box 1068 
Schenectady, New York 12301-1068 
https://www.cs.ny.gov

CHANGE SERVICE REQUESTED

Reminders, continued from page 2

New York State Department of Civil Service  
Employee Benefits Division, Albany, New York 12239  
518-457-5754 or 1-800-833-4344 (U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico,  
Virgin Islands), https://www.cs.ny.gov

The NYSHIP Health Maintenance Organizations Report is published by 
the Employee Benefits Division of the New York State Department of 
Civil Service. The Employee Benefits Division administers the New York 
State Health Insurance Program (NYSHIP). NYSHIP provides your 
health insurance benefits.

Early Retiree Reinsurance Program  
(ERRP) Notice
You are a plan participant in an employment-based 
health plan that is certified for participation in the  
Early Retiree Reinsurance Program. The Early Retiree 
Reinsurance Program is a federal program that was 
established under the Patient Protection and Affordable 
Care Act. Under the Early Retiree Reinsurance Program, 
the federal government reimburses a plan sponsor of  
an employment-based health plan for some of the costs 
of health care benefits paid on behalf of, or by, early 
retirees and certain family members of early retirees 
participating in the employment-based plan. By law,  
the program expires on January 1, 2014.

Under the Early Retiree Reinsurance Program, your  
plan sponsor may choose to use any reimbursements  
it receives from this program to reduce or offset 
increases in plan participants’ premium contributions.  

A plan sponsor may also use the Early Reinsurance 
Program reimbursements to reduce or offset increases 
in its own costs for maintaining your health benefits 
coverage, which may increase the likelihood that it will 
continue to offer health benefits coverage to its retirees 
and employees and their families.

It is the policy of the New York State Department of Civil Service to provide reasonable accommodation to ensure effective communication of information in benefits 
publications to individuals with disabilities. These publications are also available on the Department of Civil Service web site (https://www.cs.ny.gov). Click on Benefit 
Programs, then NYSHIP Online for timely information that meets universal accessibility standards adopted by New York State for NYS agency web sites. If you need 
an auxiliary aid or service to make benefits information available to you, please contact your agency Health Benefits Administrator. New York State and Participating 
Employer Retirees and COBRA Enrollees: Contact the Employee Benefits Division at 518-457-5754 or 1-800-833-4344 (U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands).

This Report was printed using recycled paper and environmentally sensitive inks. NY0920    HMO-CSEA-11-1

Please do not send mail  
or correspondence to  
the return address. See 
address information below.


