Civil Service Commission

The New York State Civil Service Commission is composed of three members: the President of the Commission, who is also the head of the Department of Civil Service, and two commissioners. By law, not more than two of the three can be adherents of the same political party. Each serves a term of six years, and vacancies in the Commission are filled by Gubernatorial appointment, upon and with the advice and consent of the Senate, for the unexpired term.

Commission Meeting Notice

The December meeting of the Civil Service Commission will be held on Tuesday, December 12, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. The meeting will be conducted at the NYS Media Services Center, Suite 146, South Concourse, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY. The meeting will also be available for viewing via webcast in real-time and on-demand.

Duties and Powers of the Civil Service Commission

The Commission adopts and modifies rules governing a wide range of State civil service matters. These rules are subject to approval of the Governor and have the force and effect of law. The Commission also hears and determines appeals on such matters as examination qualifications, examination ratings, position classifications, pay grade determinations, disciplinary actions, the use of preferred lists, and requests to continue the employment of individuals who are retired. In addition, the State Civil Service Commission has the authority to oversee the operations of municipal Civil Service Commissions and city and county personnel officers.